Jump to content
Nazduruk_Bugzappa

V2 RULES QUESTIONS

Recommended Posts

If it doesnt count as non core then by default it has to be core, but still has to be a battle group (ie 1 capital and 1 non-capital)

 

Minimum Requirements must be taken from the Core List before adding of allies & non core battle groups

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A question on Tower defence lines.

 

If I buy a squad of 4 towers and place them on the board, lets say at the max range apart of 8 inches for unit cohension.  My opponent destroys one in the middle, now at this point it will cause a disorder test due to a loss, but when it comes time for it to activate and from every turn onwards it must make a disorder test because they are out of cohesion and being buildings are unable to move back into cohesion. 

so

1) have I interpreted this correctly?

2) is it intended or an oversight?

3) does it seem reasonable that soldier in a fortified structure run around in a panic for the better part of a battle and eventually wipe themselves out (disorder test pending) because they are static models.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello together: Thanks 4 all the information in this thread. I read it carefully and found a point where need a little more information:

 

1) concerning a sub firing it´s weapons after a ram / collision: the reference is page 102. "may only move..." does that mean, that the firing options are unaffected or does it mean, that it is only allowed to move in the written way.

 

2) Same question for the case, that it took damaged.

 

 

Friendly boarding:

 

what about the crew type? Lets say my Dread loses 3 AP and my escorts perform the friendly boarding action. Do i have two different crew types on the ship my opponent has to attack and wipe out separately or do the new guys get the elite-Status? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello together: Thanks 4 all the information in this thread. I read it carefully and found a point where need a little more information:

 

1) concerning a sub firing it´s weapons after a ram / collision: the reference is page 102. "may only move..." does that mean, that the firing options are unaffected or does it mean, that it is only allowed to move in the written way.

 

2) Same question for the case, that it took damaged.

 

 

Friendly boarding:

 

what about the crew type? Lets say my Dread loses 3 AP and my escorts perform the friendly boarding action. Do i have two different crew types on the ship my opponent has to attack and wipe out separately or do the new guys get the elite-Status? 

Friendly boarding states that the ship retains it's original crew type so the Dread will still be all Elite.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question about Rugged Construction.

The Mar states that the AD are removed from the "Total Attack Dice Pool".

In the Firing Section though I can only see reference to Profile Attack Dice, Effective Attack Dice and Initial Attack Dice.

So I assume that the Total Attack Dice Pool is the same as Initial Attack Dice?

Cheers

Andy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a model with a Glacier Generator uses the Grip of Winter option and scores either a Navigational Lock or Engine Failure & Navigational Lock, are those critical effects persistent? Or do the critical effects "melt" during the Persistent Effects Step like the icebergs created by the Glacier Generator?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for that. What about firing after a ram? Which page did I miss?

Unless you happen to take damage affecting your guns in the ram/collsion, there are no effects. You've not missed anything!

 

 

 

If a model with a Glacier Generator uses the Grip of Winter option and scores either a Navigational Lock or Engine Failure & Navigational Lock, are those critical effects persistent? Or do the critical effects "melt" during the Persistent Effects Step like the icebergs created by the Glacier Generator?

 

All critical hit effects, regardless of how they are caused are persistent.

 

In this case, assume the ice has bent part of the steering and propulsion system, hence causing the persistent critical  effect.

 

James

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please forgive the question but I am not sure on something and the only way to find out is to ask. I recently got my hands on the new rule book and after several attempts to make heads or tales of the new dice mechanics I am just about ready to quit actively playing DW and just stick to painting the miniatures as a hobby. Can someone please help me to understand why we now use black, blue and red dice and how this is different from the old mechanics I don't really understand which dice to use when, am I supposed to use regular dice until a rule says to use the different coloured dice ?  Am I meant to use a specific colour until it says otherwise in the rules ? I'm just not sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please forgive the question but I am not sure on something and the only way to find out is to ask. I recently got my hands on the new rule book and after several attempts to make heads or tales of the new dice mechanics I am just about ready to quit actively playing DW and just stick to painting the miniatures as a hobby. Can someone please help me to understand why we now use black, blue and red dice and how this is different from the old mechanics I don't really understand which dice to use when, am I supposed to use regular dice until a rule says to use the different coloured dice ?  Am I meant to use a specific colour until it says otherwise in the rules ? I'm just not sure.

 

Most any dice roll is base on Exploding (Red) Dice.  This is until a rule says otherwise.

 

For instance, shields say they get Heavy (Blue) Dice against Rockets and Torpedoes.  The Sturgimium Rounds Munition also says that Shields use Heavy (Blue) Dice against that attack.

 

The rules for SAS say you only use Regular (Black) Dice against them, until a MAR or something tells you otherwise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most any dice roll is base on Exploding (Red) Dice.  This is until a rule says otherwise.

 

For instance, shields say they get Heavy (Blue) Dice against Rockets and Torpedoes.  The Sturgimium Rounds Munition also says that Shields use Heavy (Blue) Dice against that attack.

 

The rules for SAS say you only use Regular (Black) Dice against them, until a MAR or something tells you otherwise.

 

Thanks for the assist Veldrain. It makes a lot more sense to me now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most any dice roll is base on Exploding (Red) Dice.  This is until a rule says otherwise.

 

For instance, shields say they get Heavy (Blue) Dice against Rockets and Torpedoes.  The Sturgimium Rounds Munition also says that Shields use Heavy (Blue) Dice against that attack.

 

The rules for SAS say you only use Regular (Black) Dice against them, until a MAR or something tells you otherwise.

Non-SAS Models targeting SAS Squadrons always hit with AA on a 'to hit' number of 4,5, or (blue) 6.

And additionally, during dogfights between two SAS Squadrons, AA has a starting 'to hit' of 5 or (blue) 6.

I know that all of these new rules are a lot to become accustomed to. I recommend reading the rules a second or even third time. You will see things more clearly with repetition, and will help you get over v1.1 conditioning.

On my first read through of the rules, I had completely failed to absorb the fact about SAS dogfights needing a base of heavy 5+ to hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Against SAS the dice are Heavy (Blue) Dice too.

Pardon me Phant Mastik, I was not attempting to talk over your post. You must have written your post while I was researching and composing my reply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question about boarding:

 

Last time I played I launched a boarding assault from my 5 corvettes against one of my opponenets cruisers, there was another cruiser in the squadron who was within 4 inches of the one I was attempting to board. how things went down was as follows:

 

1) I fired my squadron at cruiser B during firing phase

2) I declared I was attempting to board cruiser A as I had not shot at it and noted my 5 separate assault groups

3) My oponent declared which assault group he was targetting with defensive AA as you cannot split fire anymore

4) Opponents 2nd cruiser linked fire with the first one to assist with defensive fire

5) surviving AP in assault groups were combined and then close quarters combat occured.

6) my opponent won the close combat and my AP was forced to withdraw.

 

Questions are as follows:

 

1) can you launch an assault against a model even if you have fired at another model in the same squadron?

2) is it correct that the AP from all ships launching assaults is considered a separate assault group that are targetted by AA separately?

3) can a ship in the same squadron fire at a separate assault group when using defensive AA or must they link with the model being targetted?

4) should my opponent have been able to fire AA again when I was withdrawing and if so would I have needed to split things into separate assault groups again before resolving the AA?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Under Drone Relays, it states:

Models in the Drone Network that are lost as part of an Aggressive Boarding Action are considered to have taken sufficient Critical hits to scrap the model, forcing the controlling player to remove a number of drone wings from the game equal to half of the model's remaining hull points.

"Equal to half to the model's remaining hull points"

Since all numbers in dystopian wars are rounded up, does that mean that the amount of drone wings lost would be rounded up to the next wing if said model had an odd number of HP left?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question about boarding:

 

Last time I played I launched a boarding assault from my 5 corvettes against one of my opponenets cruisers, there was another cruiser in the squadron who was within 4 inches of the one I was attempting to board. how things went down was as follows:

 

1) I fired my squadron at cruiser B during firing phase

2) I declared I was attempting to board cruiser A as I had not shot at it and noted my 5 separate assault groups

3) My oponent declared which assault group he was targetting with defensive AA as you cannot split fire anymore

4) Opponents 2nd cruiser linked fire with the first one to assist with defensive fire

5) surviving AP in assault groups were combined and then close quarters combat occured.

6) my opponent won the close combat and my AP was forced to withdraw.

 

Questions are as follows:

 

1) can you launch an assault against a model even if you have fired at another model in the same squadron?

2) is it correct that the AP from all ships launching assaults is considered a separate assault group that are targetted by AA separately?

3) can a ship in the same squadron fire at a separate assault group when using defensive AA or must they link with the model being targetted?

4) should my opponent have been able to fire AA again when I was withdrawing and if so would I have needed to split things into separate assault groups again before resolving the AA?

 

Thanks!

1) yes, so long as you have not fired any P,S,T, or Aux weaponry at the target model during the current squadron activation.

2) yes

3) no, any supporting models must use the linked fire firing option, and the target model must lead the anti- boarding firing action.

4) yes, and yes. Especially since any overkill on one assault group would not transfer over to the other assault groups.

Hope that this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm... Just to double check something here...

Cruiser A is boarded by 4 frigates.

Cruiser A has 4 ack ack

Can cruiser A roll one ack ack dice against each frigate's assault group or must the cruiser roll all ack ack against only one.

I ask this because I have seen conflicting answers to it on this thread and I want to be certain of the intentions of the game devs. In games against beta testers and others we have been playing that you can split your ack ack against the assault groups however you please. I am hoping desperately that this is the correct way to play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm... Just to double check something here...

Cruiser A is boarded by 4 frigates.

Cruiser A has 4 ack ack

Can cruiser A roll one ack ack dice against each frigate's assault group or must the cruiser roll all ack ack against only one.

I ask this because I have seen conflicting answers to it on this thread and I want to be certain of the intentions of the game devs. In games against beta testers and others we have been playing that you can split your ack ack against the assault groups however you please. I am hoping desperately that this is the correct way to play.

 

Well you can't split fire any more so I would be VERY surprised if you can target more than one assault group

 

 

1) yes, so long as you have not fired any P,S,T, or Aux weaponry at the target model during the current squadron activation.

2) yes

3) no, any supporting models must use the linked fire firing option, and the target model must lead the anti- boarding firing action.

4) yes, and yes. Especially since any overkill on one assault group would not transfer over to the other assault groups.

Hope that this helps.

 

Yes it does very much, thanks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question about boarding:

As you have a number of questions, I'll put the answers in blue. James

 

Last time I played I launched a boarding assault from my 5 corvettes against one of my opponenets cruisers, there was another cruiser in the squadron who was within 4 inches of the one I was attempting to board. how things went down was as follows:

 

1) I fired my squadron at cruiser B during firing phase

2) I declared I was attempting to board cruiser A as I had not shot at it and noted my 5 separate assault groups

Fine. this is allowed

 

3) My oponent declared which assault group he was targetting with defensive AA as you cannot split fire anymore

You may split defensive fire against boarders.

 

4) Opponents 2nd cruiser linked fire with the first one to assist with defensive fire

Correct. If it's in range and not being forced to defend itself, it may link with the first one to assist with  Anti Boarding Fire.

 

5) surviving AP in assault groups were combined and then close quarters combat occured.

Not correct. Assault groups are not combined. The defender has to allocated AP to each one.

 

6) my opponent won the close combat and my AP was forced to withdraw.

 

Questions are as follows:

 

1) can you launch an assault against a model even if you have fired at another model in the same squadron?

Yes, see above

2) is it correct that the AP from all ships launching assaults is considered a separate assault group that are targetted by AA separately?

Yes. Each assault group must be targeted separately by AA/CC and the AP if it gets on board.

3) can a ship in the same squadron fire at a separate assault group when using defensive AA or must they link with the model being targetted?

Each model helping defend links in with the target, and the the total  AA/CC is allocated as the defender wishes

4) should my opponent have been able to fire AA again when I was withdrawing and if so would I have needed to split things into separate assault groups again before resolving the AA?

Well, they we probably shouldn't have won, but given they did, yes, you would.

 

Thanks!

 

I think it would help you to look at the  boarding example at the end of of the boarding section( page 82-83 admiral edition)

 

James

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it would help you to look at the  boarding example at the end of of the boarding section( page 82-83 admiral edition)

 

James

 

Thanks James! I'll have a look when I get home - I've got to admit with all the talk of split fire going the way of the dodo I completely missed that you still use it in this manner when I read the rule book. I take it the surviving Assault groups retreat back to the ships they originated from then?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.