Iron Nerd

Need Help "Getting It" - Terrans are RB1 Brawlers?

I'm sure I'm looking at this FAR too simply, but since I'm new to the game, I'm hoping to get a better understanding.  After all, when I can truly appreciate my strengths, I can be a much more effective Admiral.  Seems the general consensus is that Terrans are tailor built to get close and start swinging at RB1.  So far I've only dealt with the BfV box set, so my comparison is going to be limited, but I'm looking at Terran Tyrant vs. Dindrenzi Praetorian.  For arguments sake, I'll assume no upgrades (which is nice for comparison, as it means 200 points vs 200 points).  A couple things immediately jump out at me:

• The Tyrant is quite a bit better in RB2 than in RB1.  Assuming I'm Linking my Turrets and Broadsides, it's 15 AD at RB2 and only 10 AD at RB1.  HUGE difference there...
  • The Praetorian beats the Tyrant at RB1, throwing 11 AD with its Gun Rack.  To be fair, the Gun Rack has to point one way or the other, but in a 1v1, it's better.

I *think* I'm probably under-valuing Shields and Weapon Shielding, as with the Praetorians complete lack of shields, a couple points of damage at long range isn't out of the question.  Anyway, the point I'm trying to get to...  Why are Terrans RB1 brawlers?  I appreciate the toughness, but why not stick to RB2 and brawl from there, as it appears that the majority of ships have more firepower from there?  Thanks for helping out the noob!

The Tyrant is in spirit what the Razorthorn was in v1.5, a RB2 brawler.  The change-over to v2.0 refocused the Apollo and the Titan, our other battleship and dreadnought respectively, into RB1 brawlers.  The other thing that pushes Terrans into the RB1 brawler category is the wide access to beam weapons on our ships, which get to reroll 1's if the target is in RB1 and the attack consists entirely of beams.  That being said, our torpedos like having targets at RB4 for the most part.