Sign in to follow this  
Darthp00p00

Intro to airbrushing?

I am a terrible painter, new to airbrushing, and am already getting some pretty cool results.

I know more about what not to get than what to get, though, so the best I can do is share my setup.

I have a Badger 105 Patriot. It is gravity fed, meaning that it has a cup on top and paint literally just drips into the airstream when the needle is pulled back. I've heard at least one person refer to it as a quality airbrush for beginners. In any case, the two brands that there seems to be a consensus about are Badger and Iwata.

You will want a compressor with a tank. If you do not have a tank on your compressor, then your airflow is coming from whatever air the compressor can compress at that given moment. This leads to potentially inconsistent airflow, and spotty results. Leave tankless compressors to the makeup artists, who just need something portable and quiet that shoots air most of the time. We can also go into oil lubricated and not, but then we're splitting hairs and its more about how much noise the compressor makes. Mine is a non-oil lubricated, refurbished Rockworth somethingorother with a three gallon tank. I currently cannot find it on Amazon where I bought it from at the moment, but it's a loud, trusty machine and came with all sorts of nifty extra parts. I can fill my own car tires now! Wee!

You want a moisture trap. This... should be pretty self explanatory. It traps moisture that was in the air you compressed, which could potentially interfere with paint consistency. I have one. It's shiny.

You will need hoses. Depending on your setup, you will need one or two. I have two, as my moisture trap does not stay mounted on my compressor. One needs to have the proper attachments for your brush. I bought a Badger-made hose just because I didn't trust myself to get the correct one otherwise.