Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ologotai

Cover Bonus for Infantry

Recommended Posts

Does an infantry unit get the Cover Bonus each time it takes a single hit (as each hit removes one company strength point) or only once it has taken sufficient hits to remove an entire token?

E.g. An infantry unit consisting of 2 Tokens each at full strength with 6 Company strength points each. It is in a Medium Buildings Built-Up Area. It is hit by an enemy attack that results in 3 hits. Does it get to roll the 1 Blue Dice Cover Bonus?

Or does it get no cover Bonus as it has not received enough hits to remove an entire token?

Cheers

Andy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tokens count as units for all purposes except for taking damage, so I believe you get cover bonus for each token that would be removed, not per point of company strength. This is also true for rules such as boarding a battalion with disorder markers, where each token receives one assault point per disorder marker on the defending battalion.

 

I feel the best indication of intent can be drawn from the rule regarding disorder checks for infantry, where a unit is only counted as being destroyed when a token is removed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree, otherwise Infantry in built up areas become also immune to damage - and it fits with the destroyed model idea, infantry being just a '6 hit/KR' stand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that if an infantry token with two points left

 

- took one hit, nothing happens

- took two hits, it would get cover and ackack dice

- took three hits, it would get cover and ackack dice

 

If an infantry battalion had eight points left on two markers

 

- took one hit, nothing happens

- took two hits (one token removed), it would get one multiple of cover and ackack dice

- took seven hits (one token removed and one damaged), it would get one multiple of cover and ackack dice

- took eight hits (both tokens removed), it would get two multiples of cover and ackack dice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If an infantry battalion had eight points left on two markers

 

- took one hit, nothing happens

- took seven hits (one token removed and one damaged), it would get one multiple of cover and ackack dice

- took eight hits (both tokens removed), it would get two multiples of cover and ackack dice

The first Token gets taken away after two hits!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a note on infantry tokens in the rules for the Guardian Generator. As shield dice from cover, shield and guardian generators have the same mechanics and are cumulative, this rule probably applies to cover-sourced shield dice, too.

 

However, this rule says that shield dice from the guardian generator apply if the infantry token was damaged or destroyed. I had thought that 'damaged' was a thing that only happened to units with multiple kill ratings. If 'damaged' also means 'a point of company strength was removed' (which can be assumed because the phrase suggests 'damaged' is different from 'destroyed') the mechanic may work like this:

 

if an infantry token with two points left

 

- took one hit, it would get ONE multiple of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

- took two hits, it would get ONE multiple of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

- took three hits, it would get ONE multiple of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

 

If an infantry battalion had eight points left on two markers

 

- took one hit, (one token damaged) they would get ONE multiple of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

- took two hits (one token removed), they would get ONE multiple of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

- took three to seven hits (one token removed and one damaged), they would get TWO multiples of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

- took eight hits (both tokens removed), they would get TWO multiples of cover (and ackack dice if eligible)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.