Sign in to follow this  
RazorWing

Armoured Clash vs Dystopian Wars (Land)

I'm looking at starting some land forces and I am curious why 2 similar land games? What is the difference between the two? I am still learning Dystopian Wars (navy mostly), so why would I want to do Armoured Clash instead of Dystopian for the land game? I've not actually found a direct comparison between the two and not yet. Where would you recommend jumping into a land game (dystopian or AC and which of the two armored starter boxes)? I play RC and EoBS in Dystopian, but focusing on Blazing Sun.

Right, I've never actually played a proper sized game of Armoured Clash, but my friend and I play games at dinners, and it is infinitely quicker than DW. We can wipe a pair of land boxes from the field in about half an hour, compared to double that for using DW.

I can't tell you much more for now, but the simplicity, one-attack-kills no degradation of ability, etc, makes it so much simpler for to play Armoured Clash, if that's what you want.

Whats the difference as far as gameplay though? I'm a bit stumped why SG released a game that uses the same models and same base rules that does something one of their other games already does. I'm sure I'm missing something here, but cant find the answer what. I'll read the rule book, but a bit worried to do that at the moment as I'm just now feeling pretty good about Dystopian Wars rules and don't want to get my head mixed up.

Also, which starter box would everyone suggest to start a land game (or would that vary by faction)?

They aren't really the same base rules though. The armoured clash rules are made to reduce bookkeeping to only really be on the landships, spotting, morale, and generator effects. As opposed to all of your core army having multiple HP, and thus weapon degradation, and such likes. There is no limited-turn maneuvering, but for heavies, which speeds everything up, there's no fuel or fatigue on tokens, the list goes on.