Jump to content
cliffs

Dystopian Wars Rules Answers

Recommended Posts

Just thought it would be handy to colate all of the rulings in one place. I will tidy this up and addd to it when i get a chance. If anyone notices any I missed please let me know.

Updated:

11/4/12

10/4/12

Mechanics:

Targeting:

Q: if I can see the centre and both sides of a model face on can I target it with full dice?

A: Yes...a model does not block Line of Sight to itself.

Q:Can submerged models use AA to make a counterattack on a flying model or wing?

A: A Counterattack still requires targeting a model. A Submerged model cannot Counterattack a Flying model.

Q: Difference between a counter attack and defensive fire?

A: A Counterattack is a response to an Attack, is part of the Combat Sequence and made against the model or Wing performing the Attack. Defensive Fire is different from a Counterattack and can use the appropriate Auxiliary weapon to reduce Damage from Rocket or Torpedo Ordnance.

Regarding follow up questions:

A: #1 - A Wing providing CAP can declare an Attack during its Parent Model's Squadron Activation. A Wing providing CAP can declare a Counterattack either in response to an Attack on itself OR in response to an Attack on its Parent Model in ADDITION to any Counterattack from a model in its Parent Model's Squadron. A Wing providing CAP CANNOT use Defensive Fire against Rocket Ordnance targeting its Parent Model and CANNOT use Anti-Boarding Ack Ack against a Boarding Assault targeting its Parent Model unless the Tiny Flyer has the Well Trained Tiny Flyer Assigned Rule.

A: #2 - No, Pack Hunter can only be used with an Attack or Counterattack and not with Defensive Fire.

Q: What is the range on AA from tiny flier CAP?

A: Just to confirm, Tiny Flyer Ack Ack has a 4" Range, whether it is flying CAP or not.

Q:Can a Model use both Defensive Ack Ack and Counter Attack Ack Ack against the same squadron Activation?

Yes.

Q: What kind of Ack Ack do CAP fighters provide?

A: #1 - A Wing providing CAP can declare an Attack during its Parent Model's Squadron Activation. A Wing providing CAP can declare a Counterattack either in response to an Attack on itself OR in response to an Attack on its Parent Model in ADDITION to any Counterattack from a model in its Parent Model's Squadron. A Wing providing CAP CANNOT use Defensive Fire against Rocket Ordnance targeting its Parent Model and CANNOT use Anti-Boarding Ack Ack against a Boarding Assault targeting its Parent Model unless the Tiny Flyer has the Well Trained Tiny Flyer Assigned Rule.

A: #2 - Just to confirm response to OP as stated by cliffs, and to further clarify the Well Trained Tiny Flyer Assigned Rule will allow CAP to provide Anti-Boarding Ack Ack but not Defensive Fire Ack Ack.

Q:Are multiple tiny flyer squadrons allowed to fly cap at the same time (each squadron flying cap for a different large/massive parent model?)

A: Just to confirm, and for completeness considering the Convoy Duty MAR, one Tiny Flyer Fighter Plane Wing providing CAP per Parent Model Squadron, but no restriction on the actual number providing CAP.

Q: Can a model fire Anti-Boarding Ack Ack at Boarders if they should use their Ack Ack earlier in the activation, either Defensively or as a Counter Attack?

Yes.

Ramming

Q: When a Model Rams a ship and then boards it, is the Assault Points halved before or after the antiboarding weapons have had their way with them?

Before. Your Assault Point (AP) value is halved before you allocate your Assault Points (which must happen before Anti-Boarding Ack Ack).

Q: Can a Ramming Diving Model be 'countered' with Concussion Charges?

A Ram is not an Attack, so Counterattack Concussion Charges cannot be used against it.

Bombs

Q: What is the Arc of Fire on Bombs?

A: Bomb Ordnance Arc of Fire

During page layout a LORD LEONIDAS note was deleted from Page 32 of the Edition 1.1 Master Rulebook:

Bomb Ordnance uses the Aft Fixed Channel Arc of Fire.

This is the official response.

Q:can Ack Ack stop them, aside from blowing the Bomber out of the sky?

No.

Torpedoes:

Q: Can torpedo bomber launched torpedo attack against surface ships if they are ships in between the target ship and the bomber??

A: 1.1 Rulebook Page 58: A model on the Surface is NEVER an Obstructing Model between a Surface model and a Flying or Obscured model.

This applies to Torpedoes.

Q: What is Torpedo Ordnance Line of Sight?

Torpedo Ordnance follows the Line of Sight and Obstructing Models rules listed on Page 58 of Edition 1.1.

Quote

A model on the Surface is NEVER an Obstructing Model between a Surface model and a Flying or Obscured model.

This DOES mean that a Flying model can target a Naval model with Torpedo Ordnance by firing under another Naval model.

Quote

A model on the Surface is NOT an Obstructing Model if it is TWO Size Classes smaller than the Firing or Spotting model.

This DOES mean that a Large Naval model can target another Naval model with Torpedo Ordnance by firing under an intervening Small Naval model, and a Massive Naval model can target another Naval model with Torpedo Ordnance by firing under an intervening Small or Medium Naval model.

The following bullet point is missing from the OBSTRUCTING TERRAIN section on Page 58 of the Edition 1.1 Master Rulebook.

  • Line of Sight for Torpedo Ordnance is ONLY Blocked by Obstructing Terrain that occupoes the ENTIRE Submerged Height Level.

Mines:

Q: Does dropping mines count as an attack that provokes defensive fire from models nearby?

Only an Attack will result in a Counterattack opportunity.

Q:How about when Mines are dropped 'on top' of a model?

This would count as an Attack, so Counterattack Ack Ack can be used.

Q:When are mines dropped from Flying models resolved?

Mines are dropped at any point during the model's Movement.

Boarding:

Q: If Multiple Boarding Assaults are launched from a Squadron against a Single Target are resolved Individually, or if they Have to be rolled and resolved together as a Single Boarding Assault.

A: Multiple Boarding Assaults against a single target are resolved as a single Boarding Assault.

Only the number of Attack Dice rolled in a Boarding Assault is reduced if a model is involved in a Collision or Ram, not the fact that a model allocates its ENTIRE current Assault Point (AP) to any Boarding Assault.

Repairs:

Q: Do you have to try and repair Raging Fire?

A: Raging Fire Critical Hit Effect

During the End Phase of the Turn a player MUST make a Damage Repair Test for each Raging Fire Marker in their Fleet.

Shield Generators:

Q: How often do you get to roll Shield Dice? After any attack against you that could be shielded or just once an activation?

A: To confirm, A Shield Generator can be used multiple times, as appropriate, during an Activation.

Fleet Composition:

Q: What are the rules regarding what models can be used as escorts?

A: An Escort Squadron must be made up of Escort models. Only a model designated as an "Escort" is an Escort model.

Q: What does an Amphibious model count as for the purposes of fleet composition?

A: Models with the Amphibious Model Assigned Rule are Naval models when in Water and Armoured models when on Land.

With regards to Core Force, an Amphibious model can be counted as either Naval or Armoured. But remember they are only part of your Core Force if in/on the appropriate Terrain (a Washington Class Land Ship that is hiding in a forest on an island, is an Armoured model and doesn't count towards a Naval Core Force requirements).

Q: When playing a game (tournament or friendly rules) do both players have to select the same core fleet.

A: Each side can choose a different Core Force in any game, however the Core Force of each Fleet should be considered during Battlefield Set-up when determining the amount of Water and Land on the Game Board.

MARS:

Q: Does the Experienced Engineers MAR apply to putting out fires?

A: Yes, the Experienced Engineers Model Assigned Rule applies to 'fixing' Raging Fires.

Q: Inventive Scientists

A: see here http://community.spa...ive-scientists/

Q: If a unit initiates a boarding action may it use swift accent afterwards ?

A: A Boarding Assault is not an Attack and is not a Ram and therefore a model cannot use Swift Ascent after a Boarding Assault.

Q:The Retardant Armour MAR states the first 6 rolled agasint this model during any Attack or Counterattack, is counted as a 6. From what I have read on Pg 19 of the 1.1 rule book this means that a 6 is a single point of damage and no re-roll. Is this the correct interpretation?

A: A 6 is ONE hit and NO re-roll.

FSA:

Q: FSA rocket Batteries

A: http://community.spa...cket-batteries/

COA:

Q: You have activated the COA Callimachus and try to teleport a model using the Time Dilation Generator. And you roll a 1 on the D6 to see what happens, for those who do not know the teleported model is temp lost in time.

A: The model cannot return to the Game Board and is therefore Lost, it will generate its Full Points Cost as Victory Points.

Q: regarding a ships movement status after it has " jumped", if the ship was moving in the previous turn to it jumping is it still counted as moving after the jump or is it considered as not moving ?

A: The model will retain the same movement status, and any relevant markers, that it had before using the Teleport function of the Time Dilation Orb.

Q: Size of Landing field/Launch Station

A: The Landing Field / Launch Station should be represented by an object the size of the Mobile Airfield acrylic base (78mm x 145mm).

Q: What is the speed of the Time Orb in water?

A: the Amphibious MAR takes precedence and this states:

Quote

If moving through Water reduce [the model's] Movement (Mv) by HALF.

Q: Can a Time Orb teleport itself?

A: No

Q: What is meant by "The model MUST move to a clear space without causing a collision or a ram."?

A: model CANNOT be Teleported by a Callimachus Time Orb to a location where when the Teleported model, or any other model, is moved during their Squadron Activation a Collision or Ram involving the Teleported model is unavoidable.

RoF:

Q: How does Split Fire work for Heat Lances/Lancettes? Can two Toulon first combine their Heat Lancettes and than use Linked Fire with their Broadsides?

A: As per Page 30 of the 1.1 Rulebook, any Primary or Secondary weapon is an Ordnance weapon. The only exception to this are the Emplacements on a Landing Field, which are specifically called out as Auxiliary weapons in their entry on the Stats pages.

KoB:

Q: Is the entire resin base (water part plus actual vanguard) the model for movement purposes?

A: the base is the "model" -all fixed channel weapons are measured at the edges of the base

Edited by cliffs
'Fixed' the limited quote issue via the colour of teal...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pulled from Spartan Julian's post on this thread:

http://community.spartangames.co.uk/index.php?/topic/126-questions-from-the-new-rulebook/

1. If I am reading this right, Bombs have a range of 4 inches, but what firing ark do they use, if any?

Bombs use the Aft Fixed Channel. However, there is currently a Poll regarding this at the top of the Rules Forum.

2. Does dropping mines count as an attack that provokes defensive fire from models nearby?

Only an Attack will result in a Counterattack opportunity.

2a. How about when Mines are dropped 'on top' of a model?

This would count as an Attack, so Counterattack Ack Ack can be used.

2b. When are mines dropped from Flying models resolved?

Mines are dropped at any point during the model's Movement.

3. How is Spotter used?

Range Band 1, 2, 3 or 4 (essentially a 32" Range).

3a. Does the Spotter and Indirect firing model have to have direct line of sight?

The Spotter must have Line of Sight, the model that is firing Indirectly does not need Line of Sight.

4. Speaking of Skilled Minelayers, does one lose the use of their Bomb attack when setting down 2 mines?

No.

5. Is there a way to 'prevent' a dropped mine from exploding by using Ack Ack?

No.

6. What about Bombs, can Ack Ack stop them, aside from blowing the Bomber out of the sky?

No.

7. Can a Model use both Defensive Ack Ack and Counter Attack Ack Ack against the same squadron Activation?

Yes.

8. Can a model fire Anti-Boarding Ack Ack at Boarders if they should use their Ack Ack earlier in the activation, either Defensively or as a Counter Attack?

Yes.

9. When selecting the 2 Tiny Flyer Wings that are Local Air Support, if a Recon Plane is selected does that 'cap' the total Local Air Support tiny fliers at 6?

Yes.

10. Is there any other benefit to using Recon Planes, or are they just Spotters?

They are better at shooting (5 or 6 to hit with Tiny Flyer Ack Ack) than a Torpedo Bomber or Dive Bomber (6 to hit to hit with Tiny Flyer Ack Ack).

11. When a Model Rams a ship and then boards it, is the Assault Points halved before or after the antiboarding weapons have had their way with them?

Before. Your Assault Point (AP) value is halved before you allocate your Assault Points (which must happen before Anti-Boarding Ack Ack).

12. Can a Ramming Diving Model be 'countered' with Concussion Charges?

A Ram is not an Attack, so Counterattack Concussion Charges cannot be used against it.

13. Is there anywhere I can find the Stats for the new Small Fliers?

We haven't put the Stat Cards up, but other Forum members have shared the information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RoF:

Q: How does Split Fire work for Heat Lances/Lancettes? Can two Toulon first combine their Heat Lancettes and than use Linked Fire with their Broadsides?

A: As per Page 30 of the 1.1 Rulebook, any Primary or Secondary weapon is an Ordnance weapon. The only exception to this are the Emplacements on a Landing Field, which are specifically called out as Auxiliary weapons in their entry on the Stats pages.

Is this the right answer for the question?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this the right answer for the question?

It does seem that the above is asking two separate questions, but the answer should cover both. Since Heat Lances/Lancettes are (S) Secondary ordnance weapons, and Broadsides are (S) Secondary ordnance weapons, they can be linked. For the example given, the first Toulon needs to link its own weapons first (the lancette + the broadside), and then link to the other ship's total (also its linked lancette + broadside).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It does seem that the above is asking two separate questions, but the answer should cover both. Since Heat Lances/Lancettes are (S) Secondary ordnance weapons, and Broadsides are (S) Secondary ordnance weapons, they can be linked. For the example given, the first Toulon needs to link its own weapons first (the lancette + the broadside), and then link to the other ship's total (also its linked lancette + broadside).

But heat lancettes use combined fire with each other, not linked fire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heat Lanes combined/splitting:

I see what you're saying now. Since you can't link them, in the above example you'd combine the heat lances, and then link the broadsides.... which was the original question posted. The answer given seems to indicate you can link them, because they are ordnance, which is incorrect according to that ruling above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Update on Fortifications:

Transcribed from this post here: http://community.spa...tion-questions/

Answers from Spartan Julian here are coloured in Stylish Blue.

INDESTRUCTABLE

If this model is Destroyed, do not remove it from the Game Board. A Boarding Assault can stil be prefromed against this model after it has been Destroyed and it can still be Captured as normal. Any Critical Hit the affects Assault Points (AP) will still apply to this model after it has been Destroyed, if it has any Assault Points remianing or a Prize Crew.

1. When the model is destroyed, and no AP damage has been inflicted on it, it would still have the full compliment of AP correct?

1. Yes

1a. When a model sufferes a Magazine Explosion, what happens to the AP?

1a. The AP still exist as the Magazine Explosion does not specifically remove the AP.

2. Can a Destroyed Emplacement still be shot at? I ask as it can still suffer Critical Hit Effects like Raging Fires, but what about adding new ones?

2. Yes.

2a. If it can, do we still track Fusion Leaks as it affects the CR of the Model?

2a. Yes.

2b Can I shoot at my own Destroyed model to try and remove a Prize Crew?

2b. No, you cannot target your own models.

3. Can a Destroyed model with 0 AP be captured and or prized?

3. Yes.

3a. Can a Destroyed model with 0 AP be recrewed/prized by it's original owner?

3a. No (as per the standard rules for Prize models).

3b. What effect does this have for VP if the original owner still has control of the model after it has been destroyed?

3b. It has still been Destroyed, so the opposing side get the VP for it.

4. Does any of the other MAR's such as Invincible or Secruity Posts still affect a Destroyed model?

4. Yes, it still retains its MARs.

5. Can AP from a Destroyed model be used to initiate a boarding assault?

5. No.

LAND TORPEDOES

Torpedoes on this model can target Armoured models on Land.

6. Can the model still target Naval models?

6. Yes, this is in addition to the standard Torpedo rules.

7. Are the Torpedoes Blocked by a change in Land Terrain in the Submerged Level?

7. The Land Torpedo travels over Land until it hits Water, at that point it follows all the standard Torpedo rules.

8. Are the Torpedoes Blocked by Water that is on the Submerged Level?

8. The Land Torpedo travels over Land until it hits Water, at that point it follows all the standard Torpedo rules.

Fortifications on Terrain Features

9. Simply, do Fortifications cound as buildings when put on top of Terrain Features?

IE: If a Medium Fortification is on top of a Medium sized Hill, is it considered a Massive Target as far as determining Line of Sight to enemy models?

9. No. A Fortification is a model, not Terrain. A Small Tank on a Medium Hill would not become a Large Model.

Fortifications and Squadrons

10. Can a Squadron of Fortifications Link Fire if within the 6" Command Distance?

10. Yes.

11. Can a Squadron of Fortifications (Or any other non Independant Model) be intentionally setup ourtside of Command Distance?

11. Yes, but if they do not have the Independent MAR they cannot perform Linked Fire.

Also an Update on the Bunker's Firing Arks for thier 90' Bunker Guns.

I provided two diagrams for the options of the Bunker Guns, this is the one confirmed as correct by Spartan Julian.

gallery_351_125_13684.jpg

The Orange Bars are the Bunker Gun 'turrets' and the Blue Areas are the Fire Arcs for them.

Also the Purple Circle is the Main Turret for reference, it has a 360' arc of fire.

WhisperingSnake's first diagram shows the correct Arcs of Fire for the Bunker for the Kingdom of Britannia, the Prussian Empire, the Federated States of America, the Empire of the Blazing Sun and the Republique of France. The Covenant of Antarctica Bunker measures both Turrets from the centre of the Bunker (the 270 Arc of Fire is Fore facing).

Spartan Julian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dystopian Wars -Rules

Hi, we are a small Group here in Germanny and beginnimg to play Dystopian Wars.

What we found is that Submerged Modelles like the British Submarines are a Modell with no effekt.!

It can be hit only as 5&6 but himself he can only Hit a target with 6 if its submerged.

Why it can only Hit his Target by 6??

So he ist mostly unatractiv for a NAvy Goup.

Any comments? or did we see this wrong?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Q: What are the rules regarding what models can be used as escorts?

A: An Escort Squadron must be made up of Escort models. Only a model designated as an "Escort" is an Escort model."

Where is this mentioned in the rulebook? (Or perhaps made more clear in the rulebook.) It was my understanding that any non-capital, non-large/massive vehicle could be organized into "escort squadron" duty.

Thanks!

Ajax

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Q: What are the rules regarding what models can be used as escorts?

A: An Escort Squadron must be made up of Escort models. Only a model designated as an "Escort" is an Escort model."

Where is this mentioned in the rulebook? (Or perhaps made more clear in the rulebook.) It was my understanding that any non-capital, non-large/massive vehicle could be organized into "escort squadron" duty.

Thanks!

Ajax

page 41

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.