Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sripley

Is Compel/Dark council an action?

Recommended Posts

It's my understanding - limited though it is - that both of those actions are "special" actions as they are listed in the "special rules" section of the applicable unit card.   Therefore can only be used once per turn as per the special action rules.  Reference, page 20 of the 1.09 rulebook, see:  Types of Actions.  

To counter that reading you could look at an ability like "Fateweaver" which specifically states:  "Once during their activation this unit may spend an action point to...."

So actually I'm not sure now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So the word 'Special' has a technical rules definition when it's on a weapon but not when it's used on the back of a card stating "Special Rules"?

So Dark Council and Compel don't even count against Limit?!  If so this is bonkers powerful with units like Juiced Hexbeasts with a paltry mind of 2.  Fail the mind check on those beasts and just keep attacking over and over or chain move them up the board using multiple "Dark Council" face units in sequence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes and yes. 

The downside is that you have to gather plenty of AP to 'attack over and over'. The only current posse where this can be a viable tactic is the Absolute Power posse.

Kill the units with the Dark Council/Compel rule and the rest falls apart.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dr. Carpathian,  Can you give any page references or rules text to back-up your ruling regarding these special ability rules.  They are very common, very powerful and I did not come across this information in my reading of the rulebook.  I'd really like to be able to reference direct text if the question comes up with opponents.  Thank-you very much for your continued help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No need to, if a rule implies an action of any kind then it would be listed in the rulebook.

I.e. strike (combat action) for a normal action or for example charge (special combat) action.

There are two types of actions, combat and move actions and some of them declared as special move/charge actions.

In addition there may be special rules/abilities on Statcards which describe wether or not a certain ability is some kind of action, like <Sky Leap> for example.

Actions are always described as such, if a certain ability isn't, then it isn't an Action.

Don't hang yourself up on the word 'Special' regarding the 'Special Rules', it's just there to distinct those rules from the 'Common Rules' above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.