Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kazimierz

Quick and the Dead...

Recommended Posts

Q&tD scenario/question:

Player "A" makes a shooting action on Player "B".  B decides on quick and the dead and passes quickness check, therefore, all shots from that Action miss, regardless of RoA of weapon, and B is now Hunkered.  However, A has enough Action points, and allowable actions based on their Limit stat, to fire again with the same figure and chooses to do so.  

Am i correct in interpreting the situation such that B now has the -1 to hit and +1 Grit, since it is in a Hunkered state, but cannot make a Quick and the Dead check, since it had already done so for a different Action already this Turn? (Same figures, but the 2nd action of Player A figure is an Action that is distinct and separate from the 1st Action of this same figure. )

Thank you in advance for your time and attention.

Kazimierz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note also that even if the model had failed the Quick and the Dead check (and thus was not hunkered and the shots applied as normal), it could not attempt it again as it is once per turn that it can be attempted. Another note, if the model was already hunkered (took the Hunker action, had done a QATD previous turn and not yet activated and removed the Hunkered token), then it cannot attempt a QATD even if it hasn't used it this turn because it is explicitly disallowed if already Hunkered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great answers, so more questions...

So, when a multi-figure  Hands group shoots at a character with quick and the dead, would it proceed as:

A) First figure in unit shoots at character, who chooses QATD.  QATD passes and therefore no hit.  2nd figure, and subsequent figure in unit, shots are also auto-misses from original QATD save.  (Pass QATD for first figure and whole unit auto-misses)

--OR--

B) First shot from unit misses from QATD save, but all other attempts to shoot by the 2nd, and onward, figures from multi-figure unit, would be as normal and the target would be 'Hunkered' for them.

I am guessing it is "B", since you technically resolve each shot one at a time, right?  Just looking for clarification to make sure I'm not crazy, since the voices keep saying otherwise...

Tried to find example in some youtube game reports, but it was driving me nuts...

Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Option B is correct. The first model in the unit would miss, and the rest would fire as normal, affected by hunkered. Also, QATD, does not have to be the first shot. So if your opponent has 3 Rifles and a Gatling, and elects to shoot with rifles first to bait you out, you can choose to take the rifle shots normally in the hopes you will still be alive to QATD the Gatling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Aristos601 said:

Also, QATD, does not have to be the first shot. So if your opponent has 3 Rifles and a Gatling, and elects to shoot with rifles first to bait you out, you can choose to take the rifle shots normally in the hopes you will still be alive to QATD the Gatling.

That bit isn't correct since you declare "the Quick and the Dead" before any dice are being rolled. And those dice would be already rolled when your opponent had the chance to shoot with those 3 rifles.

tQatD.JPG.393e1344b7aec0afc942422435780bf3.JPG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't believe that is correct, as each individual model fires one at a time. So 1st model fires rifle. No QATD, 2nd model fires rifle, no QATD. 3rd model etc... until the Gatling. We roll simultaneously but that is for speed of play rather than technically accurate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Burson_Carpathian said:

That bit isn't correct since you declare "the Quick and the Dead" before any dice are being rolled. And those dice would be already rolled when your opponent had the chance to shoot with those 3 rifles.

tQatD.JPG.393e1344b7aec0afc942422435780bf3.JPG

Note it says "enemy model's Combat Action." So you're incorrect, Burson_Carpathian. Note also that when making a Combat Action with a unit, you are supposed to fully resolve one model's attacks at a time. So, yes, if the first model's attack is a rifle, you could opt to QatD or not, and then if the second model's attack is a gatling you could QatD attempt on that.

 

Edit: and yes, I know a lot of people roll all the dice for a unit at the same time, but this is technically incorrect; you should be rolling only a single model's attacks at a time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You guys are great! Thank you all for taking the time to review and answer.  Playing another WWX game this week.  I've only had a chance to play my Absolute Power posse twice so far (often wrong...still learning...).

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.