Sign in to follow this  
Operator

Advice for a new player

Hey everyone,

so I'm just starting out on my Firestorm Planetfall journey - been craving a sci-fi game at this scale for a while, and while I enjoyed the rules of Dropzone commander, I really couldn't get on with the look of the miniatures.

Would anyone on here be kind enough to sum up the state of the game right now, past Spartans normal slightly neglectful position? (I started out on HFB and so I've read all about Spartans rep for flitting between projects while ignoring others). It seems like this game is, was, should be getting an update? Is this just rules or miniatures too? Obviously I won't be stupid enough to ask for an eta (it is Spartan after all) but have timeframes been suggested? 

Also, I picked up a Dindrenzi heavy armour helix the other day and was surprised to find no rules in the box (coming from HFB which get stat cards for each unit). Does this game not have any printed stats for races other than the ones in the core rule book?

Finally I keep seeing a Dindrenzi command barge of some kind in the rule book - but I can't find it in any helix, what's the story there? 

Thanks for for all the help everyone - hope you don't think I'm lazy asking these q's. I have looked for the info myself, it's just surprisingly easy to read a few threads and get 4 different answers to all of them. 

Cheers, 

Op

Good questions Op.

It is true that Spartan has been rather silent over the past 4-6 weeks. Before the radio silence it had been indicated that the Planetfall 2.0 rules would be released August/September. There is also supposed to be new helixes for release after the rulebook. The new helixes will include core helixes for the current alliance races, (Hawker, RSN, Veydreth, Ba'Kash, Terquai, & Works Raptor). The alpha/beta statistics had mention of some fortified command helixes but there has been little more information beyond that for the core races.