Grand-Stone

Please use metric...

As a long time wargamer I find imperial far easier on the table top, and Im a research scientist who normally works in nano and micro metres! The original GW LOTR rules set had both Imperial and Metric, but metric was dropped pretty quickly...

Besides, tape measures usually come with both units of measurement, so what difference does it make if its metric or imperial?

Also, ask yourself this. When on the table using a tape measure, which is easier to find? 6" or 15cm?

Glad everyone takes this thread as fun thread, and be taken as such.

By the way, it's only what you are used to. 20cm tells me far more than 8''.  But it's obviously of no big concern for me. To improve the world, we got to start somewhere and gaming can be one of them. Getting people used to metric would in the long run make things a lot easier for everyone. Screws and bits and parts and things... Some are made for '' other for mm or cm, and screws things up. Try to use a metric bit with an imperial bit... Nasa rockets gets blown to bits cus someone used imperial units and  not metric. And, on top of that, the UK imperial system is different from the US imperial system. So they both use the same word but means different things. How great is that :D

And now we got a ship in DW which is 275mm long. I love that, but if the size of the figures is measured in mm, which they obviously are, would it be better if the system also used the metric system? 

So, for a better world, Spartan could set a good example, and use metric .I don't see it ever happening, due to Fallens picture, but they should!

Inches are far better for table-top miniatures games, in part because 1" across is usually the size of the smaller miniatures on the table. It makes estimating distance really easy and each additional 1" increment is a small but meaningful amount of movement. A 15cm move just doesn't break-down easily into miniature friendly increments in a way which helps me plan my move.