William Adama

[COVER DISCUSSION] - Cover Mechanics I'd like to see in PF

Hi Commanders,

I know this is an old thread and I don't want to do threadnecromancy but I'd like only to explain a mechanics I'd like to see in PF.

In all the other games I regulary play there is a cover o defiling mechanics to give some chances to unit to survive an alpha strike or to give slow close quarter unit the opportunity to survive the enemy fire during they advance.

Why if you see a part of a unit base, you have a clear sight to it? 
Why in PF there isn't mechanics like we found in Armada, where you halve the hit dice if the target is beyond some asteroids?
Recapitulate: I'd like to see a cover/defile mechanincs even for other units in addition to the shields rules.

What do you think?

Oh god, Line of Sight rules - the bane of any non-simplified wargaming ruleset. Seriously, I've been wargaming for 20 years, and by and far the most common category of discussion, disputes and FAQs has been on the issue of line of sight.

The problem is that a lot of systems try to put cover rules into effect, to take into account troops taking cover behind walls and the like - because no man who walks into a firefight in a shirt is going to stand out in the open after the close the of the 19th century. But when you put those sorts of systems in place, you have to introduce interpretations, sometimes exceptions, and how those interpretations are read and applied cause disputes. And then there will always be those who try to game the system, using loopholes to get one up on their opponent.