YoungDave Posted September 3, 2016 Report Share Posted September 3, 2016 Afternoon guys, I have a question (did try a search - failed to answer my question). A Russian mimics a shield generator (from a tower). Then, over the next couple or so activations - both the towers are killed (my opponent isn't stupid!) - AND I still have a vessel or 2, with mimic generators, who haven't yet activated. So the question is: "Can a mimic generator copy another mimic that has ALREADY copied a shield generator?" My buddy said no (well, you would!) and as we could find nothing in the goodly rule book, we played it that I couldn't. But I HAVE remembered to ask you good folks in the community. Any pointers would be appreciated. Thanks Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazduruk_Bugzappa Posted September 3, 2016 Report Share Posted September 3, 2016 Unfortunately, a mimic cannot copy another mimic. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
YoungDave Posted September 4, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 4, 2016 Thanks Nazduruk. We do tend to struggle on occassion with some of the rules. And their interpretations! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfchild Posted September 22, 2016 Report Share Posted September 22, 2016 Yeah, needs to be clear in the rules. Also you'd think that once copied, a mimic could maintain that throughout the game, until it mimics something else. I guess that would make it broken tho. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pawprint Posted September 23, 2016 Report Share Posted September 23, 2016 On 22/09/2016 at 8:17 PM, Wolfchild said: Yeah, needs to be clear in the rules. Also you'd think that once copied, a mimic could maintain that throughout the game, until it mimics something else. I guess that would make it broken tho. From the Digital Admiral's Edition, p97: "These abilities remain until the Model with the Mimic Generator suffers a Generators Offline Critical Result or it copies a new Generator. The Targeted Model does NOT lose the use of a Copied Generator." So, once copied, the Mimic Generator CAN maintain those abilities until destroyed, knocked offline or it mimics something else. Not really broken given how close you need to get to copy anything. For the original point, my first thought was that a Mimic Generator *could* copy the abilities of another Mimic Generator (treating it as if it was, say, a Shield or Tesla Generator) but I'm assuming the intention of Spartan Games is that the Mimic Generator gains the *abilities* of the copied generator, yet remains a Mimic Generator. So, from further up on p97: "The Model may not attempt to Mimic a Generator they already possess." So this would mean you can't copy the abilities of another Mimic Generator that copied something useful, since the target is still technically a "Mimic" Generator rather than a "Whatever it copied" Generator. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veldrain Posted September 25, 2016 Report Share Posted September 25, 2016 "The Model may not attempt to Mimic a Generator they already possess" Just to point out this has a second effect. It does indeed prevent you from copying the effects of other Mimics because they are in fact still Mimics, which you can't copy because you already have one. But it also prevents a ship with both a Mimic Generator and an Iceberg Generator from copying another Iceberg and use both each turn. Same with the rocket/torpedo jammer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...