Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
FragEmAll

A couple of newbie questions

Recommended Posts

Having buried myself in the rule book and had my first game with Britannians a few weeks back, a few questions have arisen that I cannot seem to get clear answers on

1) i believe you can only declare 1 ramming move per activation but is this per ship or per unit? For example I have 3 medium submarines in range of an enemy ship. Can only 1 of them declare a ram or can they all pile in? If they all pile in can I link their impact rating or do they all do it individually?

2) support cruisers. I know they can be attached to other squadrons but if I bought 2 of them and attached one to another squadron, could the remaining one operate as a squadron on its own or would it have to be attached to another squadron?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) One ramming per ship. All individual. 

2) Look up their regular squadrin size. If it is 1-3, you can use single dominions. If it is 2-3 you can sue them only in a minimum of pair. The minimum siza has nothing to do with attaching to other sqaudrons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With dominions you have a choice, you can either use them as a squad of two or three, or you can just spend the points for one and attach it to something else. You are not obliged to spend points on two of them if you just want to attach one to something else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for the swift answers chaps. Ramming now makes more sense, and brilliant news about the dominions. 

 

By the way, i am still waiting for my tribals to arrive so in the meantime would you recommend attaching a Dominion to the Agincourts I already have? or possibly a Ruler/Majesty or Lord Hood? or even something random like my Destroyer squadron? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A majesty and dominion combo is very expensive, but has some very nice advantages. I tend to find that 3 is a very good number of kob turrets to link, dominion and majesty can fire two such shots. The linked fore torps are suddenly a credible threat. Ack ack and cc is boosted in a credible imitation of an escort. Guardian shield takes care of the dominion's lack of protection. Dominion can recrew the majesty after someone fails to board the big beast.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

would you recommend attaching a Dominion to the Agincourts I already have? or possibly a Ruler/Majesty or Lord Hood? or even something random like my Destroyer squadron? 

Unless I'm mistaken you can't attach to a Small Squadron

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Dominion's listing says KoB: Naval 1. So you can attach to a group of smalls.

A group of Orion's and a Dominion is pretty lethal!

I personally wouldn't link a Dominion with a Majesty due to the points cost, plus both ships can have a target painter.

I would link a Dominion to an Avenger - Avenger has better overall torps (stronger fore torps and p/a torps on top) than the Majesty and would still benefit from the Avengers' guardian gen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a lot of points just for a few more torps for the avenger, totally worth it on dominions thou :) also pointless on the majesty as it will generally be facing on its side, it might as well not have torps :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

True but the avenger gives you fliers and a solid base so it's a good trade off. I paired an avenger with a dominion and the set up worked very well.

The SAW's guided my tar gets into range and then the tops let rip

Realistically you would group the dominion with other mediums.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is there any reason a Dominion couldn't be attached to a squadron of subs like vanguards, even when they're diving? Only thing I can think is that the subs would be hitting on 5s and the Dominion on 4s.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is there any reason a Dominion couldn't be attached to a squadron of subs like vanguards, even when they're diving? Only thing I can think is that the subs would be hitting on 5s and the Dominion on 4s.

There's no reason but it would become an instant weapons magnet sitting on the surface by itself

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sticking a Dominion with Orions has one drawback - You lose Pack Tactics if the Dominion links into the attack.  You can however use it to target another squad mate and draw off their CC from the Orions attack and the Submerged Hunter is nice.

 

Adding one to a Large/Massive also has a drawback - if the Dominion dies you are taking a Break test and counting as half squad.  Majesties are sad when they can't link turrets.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sticking a Dominion with Orions has one drawback - You lose Pack Tactics if the Dominion links into the attack.  You can however use it to target another squad mate and draw off their CC from the Orions attack and the Submerged Hunter is nice.

 

Adding one to a Large/Massive also has a drawback - if the Dominion dies you are taking a Break test and counting as half squad.  Majesties are sad when they can't link turrets.

 

Really good points there. so Gunships and Cruisers is the best place for them. Is there any valid arguement for taking a whole squadron of Dominions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Adding one to a Large/Massive also has a drawback - if the Dominion dies you are taking a Break test and counting as half squad.  Majesties are sad when they can't link turrets.

For Queen and country !!!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A Dominion has some uses for joining small squads beyond the extra AA/AP.  It guarantees that the squad has access to it's Hunter/Submerged.  With the wide command radius the Dominion has the chance to range ahead and tag models with the torp painter.  Unreliable as it is this does prevent the enemy from obstructing the model before the Orions do their thing.  If the Dominion is now to close to use it's own torps just point them elsewhere.

 

The only real reason to use a squad of Dominions on their own is to spam the Target Painter.  This is generally lack luster due to the combination of short range/ being used before you move/ and the 50% chance.  Not enough to justify them compared to Tribals.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was talking bout the commodore ability which is to automatically remove d3 disorder markers.

 

Oh yeah, that one.  I could count the times I have been able to use it effectively on one hand.  My commodore is usually out of range or they break well after their own activation.  And as Presidente has said the entire D3 part is obsolete since a squadron can only ever have one disorder marker.

 

I was under the impression that commodore abilities could not be used if they were disordered themselves.  Since that does not seem (or is no longer) the case then this the one and only time For Queen and Country would be useful.  Unless the commodore already activated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.