Duetzefix

Duetzefix' weird little ships

Hi! I started painting again yesterday, and it was fun! I don't think I've finished painting a model in more than five years, now, let alone three.

But I realised I'm rusty. So I hope this thread can motivate me to keep on paintin'. Maybe the rust'll flake off that way. :D

Anyway, here's some pictures:

6JW2pYR.jpg

yop0nL5.jpg

It's my first try at OSL, so I'd be grateful for any hints, tips etc.

Oh, and, forgive the "quality": The only camera I have is my phone. :wacko: 

As these are effectively the first models you've painted, you're off to a good start.

OSL is very difficult with just brushes. The best results are from an airbrush, so if that's not an option, you need to get some 'technical' mediums to mix with your paints. Vallejo has an excellent line of these modifiers; Citidel has a few as well.

Worst case, you can try some advanced techniques like wet blending, as a last resort.

If you find a solution that works for you, great! If not, these models still look good.

@Ryjak: An airbrush is not an option for me at the moment, but I'll look into the "technical" mediums you mentioned. The paintjobs are supposed to be tabletop standard, anyway, so I probably won't bother with wet blending. :)

@Frans: The colour choice is the only thing you can mention as positive? My models must be awful! ;):lol:

I hope I can get a few cruisers done this weekend. Now that I've said that I probably have to paint them, right?  :D 

OSL is largely about blending your light color into the base color underneath it. You can do that with patient glazing using thin paints. You can do it much faster with an airbrush, but (IMO), you have to use somewhat translucent pigments to get it to look right.