Jump to content
godzmarine2007

A Few Good Questions...

Recommended Posts

Hit and Run effectively  allows you to make an out of sequence attack in the middle of your movement.

 

You have not yet finished your move, so are not bound by the 'cannot finish your move over/under another model' condition.

Therefore, something like the following is legal

 

Lord Hood uses it Hit and Run to move over a Submarine, fires, and then moves on to finish its move  not on top of the sub.

 

I would try and avoid it if it is going to be slow and fiddly to figure out.

 

James

 

EDITED for clarity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"All icebergs placed in this manner are removed during the Persistent Effects Step of the End Phase." CE pg 151

 

The generator can be turned off or the ship that had the generator could be lost.  Icebergs are removed in the end phase.

 

 

Which rule are you basing your assumption on?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hit and Run allows you to make an out of sequence attack in the middle of your movement.

 

You have not yet finished your move, so are not bound by the 'cannot finish your move over/under another model' condition.

Therefore, something like the following is legal

 

Lord Hood uses it Hit and Run to move over a Submarine, fires, and then moves on to finish its move  not on top of the sub.

 

I would try and avoid it if it is going to be slow and fiddly to figure out.

 

James

 

You got it backwards actually. The free half move you get from doing a "Hit and Run" is during the Firing Consolidation step. So for your whole movement Phase (If you want to use Hit and Run), you technically have a MAX move of half your MV. Then you enter your firing segment to shoot, afterwards during Firing Consolidation, you get a "free move" to go half your MV. And after that it cannot declare/initiate a Boarding declarations step (Which people forget :/ ).

 

So in short, you are still under the "models occupying the same space" rule, since you overall END your movement on top another model. (Either you declare its the end of its move, it stops to turn, or any other situation where you pause the model during its move like a Collision or Ram) 

 

If a glacier generator gets knocked off., do the iceberg's it has placed this turn already, melt? I would assume so...but it says nothing on the subject.

 

It generally says under generators, "Generators with continuous effects are always on, unless they suffer a Generators Offline critical effect or the generator gets disabled in some way"....It's a bit of a stretch, but from what is pretty common sense, Glaciers are continuous effects that disappear during the Persistent effects step of the End phase. Would this mean it's a continuous effect of a generator that is always "ON" since the generator activated? cause if this is true, if you knock out a glacier gen, it would make the glaciers disappear.

You're right Presidente, it's pretty unclear how the rulebook works out in this situation. Cause if the above is true, then you can knock out teleportation portals, time dilation fields, and storm templates by just doing a Generator Strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

By that logic, couldn't you say that since the upg or tesla generator caused a persistent effect (crit effects marker) on a ship, that generator striking the tesla or upg ship would remove them?

A little facetious, yes, but an extension of the same thinking. I do not think turning of a gen removes its prior effects like generating ice bergs or templates.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It generally says under generators, "Generators with continuous effects are always on, unless they suffer a Generators Offline critical effect or the generator gets disabled in some way"....It's a bit of a stretch,

 

It's very simple: if a generator has a continuous effect it is specifically mentioned in the rules. No argument about that I'm afraid.

 

So a glacial generator doesn't count as continuous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shield, Rampart, Cloud, Nullification, and Target Jammers all state that they have a Continuous effect.  Glacial does not.

 

Glacial Generators do not cause a continuous effect.  They place a Terrain Feature.

 

Target Painters specifically state what happens when the generator goes offline.

Storm Clouds from the Weather Generator also state what happens when  squad losses storm points.

 

Glacial, Teleport, and Time Flow gens all say exactly when the terrain or template is removed and does not mention the generator going offline.  If they wanted the terrain or templates to be removed when the generator went offline they would have used the same wording as Target painters or Weather gens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's very simple: if a generator has a continuous effect it is specifically mentioned in the rules. No argument about that I'm afraid.

So a glacial generator doesn't count as continuous.

Isn't the only real difference between a non continuous and continuous generator is the former has to be activated during the ship activation? After that it just follows the normal rules for generators and it would have to be wording specific as veldrain mentions above. There's no reason for the ice bergs to disappear if the generator goes off-line as it states when the iceberg disappears...in the end of turn stage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You got it backwards actually. The free half move you get from doing a "Hit and Run" is during the Firing Consolidation step. So for your whole movement Phase (If you want to use Hit and Run), you technically have a MAX move of half your MV. Then you enter your firing segment to shoot, afterwards during Firing Consolidation, you get a "free move" to go half your MV. And after that it cannot declare/initiate a Boarding declarations step (Which people forget :/ ).

 

So in short, you are still under the "models occupying the same space" rule, since you overall END your movement on top another model. (Either you declare its the end of its move, it stops to turn, or any other situation where you pause the model during its move like a Collision or Ram) 

 

 

 

Looking at the movement section C2 Path of Least Disturbance-  it only specifies  a model cannot end its move occupying the same space as another model. It does not specify 'during the movement consolidation step' or 'at the end of the movement segment'.

 

 It is also worth noting the Minimum movement segment:

'Once a model has completed its Minimum Movement, it is free to stop at any time, at which point it moves no further in the movement segment.' ( my emphasis)

 

 

If a model uses Hit and Run, the end of its move during that activation is when it has finished moving during the firing consolidation step, and not before.

 

James

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soo, if a HEC Tartarus or Gadieros fort gets a crit that is either Nav Lock or half movement, does that have any effect?

Does Nav lock prevent it from submerging?  Half movement prevent from submerging?

I assume no, but would like think it would.

 

Also, can aquatic boarders board submerged models?

I have a squadron of Stringray Assault subs about to mix it up with FAus Crocodiles. Interesting.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.