Jump to content
Combat Hippy

New player with many question

Recommended Posts

Hi guys & gals im a new player looking for a little help with a few rules from some of you more veteran players.

 

1. Im playing Dindrenzi one of my battle ships has 2 banks of 6 torps, my question is can I fire them as a group of 12 or do I follow the linked firing rule as if I was using a different ship. As I understand it; its the difference between rolling 12 dice or 9 dice.

2. When targeting stuff do I need to get the pin in my fire arc or the base. I know we measure from the pin but what about targeting ?

 

3. I have seen a few games played online, some of them seem to be attaching SRS without carriers, is this an older rue from v1 or v1.5 or can we still do it ?

 

4. When linking fire do you measure from all the ships taking part or just the one that is heading the attack ?

 

Thanks for now, Ive got to get ready for another game.

 

Cheers

 

G

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

welcome to the forums always good to get new players on board

 

Q1 you link so 9 dice

 

Q2 you have to get the peg in your fire arc

 

Q3 not quite sure what you mean

 

Q4 you check from each ship as there may be different range bands resulting in a different number of  dice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks folks.

 

Another thing, in some of the games ive seen when your shooting at something it normally hits on a 4,5 or 6. But if it smaller than you some games have been saying you hit on a 5 or 6 is this an old rule too cos I don't seem to be able to find it in the new rule book.

I know difficult targets hit on a 5 or 6 and srs hit on a 6, but what about a battlesip vs crusier is that a 5, 6 or a 4 5 6?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi and welcome,

 

1) You pick a weapon system on a ship to be the focus of an attack, not a ship. Any other system, including others on the same ship, have to use linking fire mechanic to add their dice (if possible of course)

2)the flight peg (pin) is indeed what you measure LOS to.

3)Old edition

4)All ships, so you know which rangeband and modifiers may apply.

 

5) a dice hits on 4+ unless a modifier is applied (like for gascloud) or model has a MAR that amends it (like Difficult of Elusive target).There are some cruisers with difficult target, but not many.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Torpedoes and other Indirect Weapons ignore Cloaking Fields. 

 

Models with a 0" turn limit can make consecutive turns using the turning template (IE; a Terran Frigate can turn up to 45o once, and then turn 45o again. A model with a Turn Limit of 1" would have to move forwards 1", then make a turn of up to 45o). 

 

Hope this helps. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indirect weapons never have LOS impeded.

 

Ships with 0" turn limit can't turn however much they want, they must obey normal turning rules- so a single turn can't be more than 45 degrees and must include 1" move to align to the turning template. So a frigate with 0" TL would have to use 8" to make a full circle, doing a full octagonal turn to one side. They cannot pivot on the spot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indirect weapons never have LOS impeded.

 

Ships with 0" turn limit can't turn however much they want, they must obey normal turning rules- so a single turn can't be more than 45 degrees and must include 1" move to align to the turning template. So a frigate with 0" TL would have to use 8" to make a full circle, doing a full octagonal turn to one side. They cannot pivot on the spot.

This, probably explained it better than I did. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indirect weapons never have LOS impeded.

Ships with 0" turn limit can't turn however much they want, they must obey normal turning rules- so a single turn can't be more than 45 degrees and must include 1" move to align to the turning template. So a frigate with 0" TL would have to use 8" to make a full circle, doing a full octagonal turn to one side. They cannot pivot on the spot.

If they have to move 1" minimum then what is the difference between TL 1" and TL 0"?

We've assumed TL 0" has to move but it can be less than inch before they can start to turn. We usually lay out flexible measuring tape to show the path of TL0 ships.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If they have to move 1" minimum then what is the difference between TL 1" and TL 0"?

A model with 1" TL has to move 1" directly ahead before making another turn (that involves 1" movement to the direction of the turn- you cannot pivot on the spot with a model) while a model with 0" TL can continue to turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All ships must use the Turn Template if they move anything other then straight forward.  Turn Limit is the number of inches the unit must move straight forward after a turn before they can turn again.  Examples of 0", 1", and 2" Turn limit moves are on page 51 of the rulebook.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It can be a bit confusing to understand because the turn itself consumes one inch.  "Turning" in Firestorm is both an angle change AND moving forward one inch after the angle change (regardless of the turn limit).  So grab your turn template and follow along:

 

A model with a 0" turn limit can use the angle side of the template immediately, and thus start their activation by turning up to 45 degrees and moving an inch forward.  They can then turn another 45 degrees after that (going around the corner of the template, so to speak).  In lousy ASCII art, it looks like:   \ _ (that is two inches of movement, and two turns, assuming you started the activation pointing straight down).

 

A model with a 1" turn limit must move one inch straight forward at the beginning of it's activation, then it can turn up to 45 degrees as it moves the second inch (again, the turn is both an angle change AND moving an inch).  It then has to move another inch straight forward before it can turn again.  In lousy ASCII art, it looks like the below (which represent 4 inches of movement and two turns, and a 90 degree change of direction at the end):

 

|

 \

   \ _

 

Thus a model with turn limit of 1 and 8 inches of movement can do a 180 on it's turn, though it also moves to the side (start on the left, end on the right below:

|              |

 \           /

   \ _ _ /

 

 

 

A model with a 2" turn limit must move two inches straight forward at the beginning of it's activation and between each turn, though the turn itself still only takes a single inch (again, the turn is both an angle change AND moving an inch).  In lousy ASCII art, it looks like the below:

|

|

\

  \

    \ _

 

Thus a model with a 6" move and a 2" turn limit can only complete a 90 degree change of direction (as above) in one activation.  The only units that can spin in place and fly off in any direction are flight tokens.

 

Hope that helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You don't even need the first line with periods.  Turn limit 0 means no required inch before any turn (though the turn itself still requires you to move an inch forward--again, it's a rotation plus 1 inch forward during the turn itself).

   _

 /    \

|      |

 \ _ /

 

8" of move to do a complete circle and end where you started.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

im gonna re-ask a question that wasnt answered because im curious when ships like cruisers and gunships are taken as accompaniments for T1 models (as the example used a dindrenzi carrier taking gunships) do they act as escort class ships and contribute the entire pd to defending against torps as tbh im unsure on this point myself

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

im gonna re-ask a question that wasnt answered because im curious when ships like cruisers and gunships are taken as accompaniments for T1 models (as the example used a dindrenzi carrier taking gunships) do they act as escort class ships and contribute the entire pd to defending against torps as tbh im unsure on this point myself

 

No. Only ships with the "escort" type have the special escort powers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.