Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Dystopian Wars Rules'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Welcome to the Warcradle Community
    • News & Rumours
    • Great Places to Play!
    • Rules and Introductions
    • General Discussion
  • Warhosts Recruitment Area
    • Warhosts Wanted
    • General Discussion
  • Dystopian Age
    • Armoured Clash
    • Dystopian Wars
    • Lost World Exodus
    • Wild West Exodus
  • The Firestorm Galaxy
    • Firestorm Armada
    • Firestorm Planetfall
    • Firestorm Taskforce
  • Mythos
    • Mythos General
  • Uncharted Seas
    • General
  • Warcradle Scenics
    • General Discussion
  • REGIONAL FORUMS
    • DEUTSCH
    • ESPAÑOL
    • FRANÇAIS
    • ITALIÀNO
    • POLSKI
  • Archive
    • Dystopian Legions
    • General Discussion

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests

  1. So, I was looking through the French Rulebook, and I noticed that with Cloud Generator activated, your are only hit on a 5 or 6. And the retardant Armour mar says that the first 6 rolled becomes a 6, so does that mean that the first 6 rolled against someone with Retardant Armour and their Cloud Generator active is negated? Or am I just a crazy Rules Lawyering guy?
  2. You have activated the COA Callimachus and try to teleport a model using the Time Dilation Generator. And you roll a 1 on the D6 to see what happens, for those who do not know the teleported model is temp lost in time. Question? - what happens to the teleported model if the Callimachus is destroyed before the you activate the Time Dilation Generator in its next activation. As the COA Rules Booklet says "It will reappear anywhere on the board, in any direction the next time the generator is activated" Does it A) Stay lost in time, counting as destroyed, if so does it generate victory points / victory condition Reappear in the same spot it teleported from C) Reappear as if it had teleported normally D) Reappear randomly
  3. As I understand it is assumed by all that for example, most naval vessels are required to make a minimum move of 2" straight forward before making any course corrections. For example; On 'some' stat cards it says that the model must move a minimum of 2" during it's activation (CoA Dreadnought,Escort etc, and on other it states that it must move a minumum of 2" straight forward during its activation (CoA Sky Fortress). Now this seams reasonable since the Sky Fortress is flying, but for the other two, does it mean that they can make a course correction from the instant it moves, restricted by the turning template of course? since the only land based models that need to make this straight ahead move are the ones with a 45 degree turning template and who have 'minimum move' listed in their card details, as per the main rulebook page 50. Is this just an error in the CoA cards i have?
  4. So... There's been a little bit of back and forth between iamgraef and myself over what the rules have to say about Defensive Fire. Some people feel that the issue has been settled in previous responses by Spartan Julian, but I'm not so sure about that. If you're responding to this topic, please keep it to information provided since the 1.1 update, and please don't cite the old forum as a reference. I'm interested in a current citation that comes directly from Spartan Games, either in the rulebook itself or in a post made since the release of the updated rules. The issue is this: On page 66 of Dystopian Wars 1.1, there is a passage that lays out how one responds to an attack that allows Defensive Fire. The example doesn't include hull damage and its reductive effect on dice pool, nor does it specifically adress who is allowed to be the primary model upon which the other models may link. The example block (Number 19, if you're playing along at home) does state that the targetted model is the primary and that the other cruisers may link fire with it, but it doesn't say that this is how things have to be. Now, there could be a variety of reasons to declare a ship other than the one being targetted as your primary, from reduced capacity through hull damage, to shredded defenses or generator offline critical results, and so on, ad nauseum. What worries me about the interpretation that any ship in a squadron which has LOS to the one being attacked may act aas the primary is, simply, that it opens the door to WAAC (Win At All Costs) and RAW/RAI (Read as Written/Read as Intended) shenanigans. If any ship in the squadron can act as primary, then why not just run a lead ship out, then use the ones that are behind it, still in range, but out of LOS for the opponent to defend the one in front, thus only putting your one ship at risk and preserving the rest of the squadron? Is it really intended that a squadron under fire from torpedoes or rockets be allowed to choose any model to defend itself with, where the majority of players will start with the one least injured and most capable? If so, then how are you supposed to take down the wounded? Concentrating fire becomes less effective if your opponent can just choose an uninjured ship to roll his defense.
  5. A question of clarification here. On the back of the FSA Princeton class gunship card it states "The single Main Turret (P) has a 360 degree arc of fire. The rockets have a 360 degree arc of fire. When firing the rockets measure from the rocket battery on the physical model for Line of Sight and Ranges." Now the model has two rocket batteries. One on the bow, one of the stern. Does this mean that the princeton has three weapon systems. a Main turret and two rocket batteries? Or does it have only two weapon systems, a main turret and a rocket battery and that you can measure from either physical rocket battery on the model when determining line of sight and range? I ask because the Valley class airship card has two entirely seperate forward rocket batteries listed on it's card. I think some clairification on whether the Princeton mounts one rocket battery or two is needed.
  6. First, if I drop a mine onto a model a little off center so the mine is only on one side of the target, can that model be a blocking/intervening model for the other side without the mine? I assume it would block if you put it off the target model on one side. The next question is whether a flying model dropping a mine onto a model or near enough to instantly activate it, would the plane or any other flying models take the blast damage as well or just surface models? Would the plane have to end it's movement first to see if it gets caught in the blast?
  7. Hello boys and girls, got a question, I was thinking that in Rangeband 1 you got -1 attack on your turrets, but can't find it in the rulebook. The only thing I can find is that in Rangeband 1 you hit on a 5 or 6. Am'I looking wrong in the rulebook, or is that rule not anymore?
  8. A friend and I were having a game today and we had a discussion on TF Torpedo Bombers. This is how it went. Him: The torpedo has a range of 8" measure from any part of the TF wing and to the nearest point on the target model. Me: Yes, well done sah, have a medal. Him: Ahh, BUT. Since.... Oh wait hang on, would a target get Counter Attack fire (Ack Ack vs the TBs to possibly make them abort?) AND CC defensive fire? We seemed to think they should or would. Him (cont.): since the 8" Ack Ack Counter Attack fire from the target vessel is measured from the center of the model is is entirely possible that the torpedos would be in range yet the Counter Attack Ack Ack is not. Me: Hmmm.. I think that's a bit beardy. I think that's using the game mechanic to get out of receiving Counter Attack fire. and the discussion continued... What do you think? PS: beardy means being one of those people who look for loopholes in the rules to get a sly advantage.
  9. On Bunkers, the four Bunger Guns (S) have a 90 degree arc. Where are people taking this 90 degree arc from, the centre of each face (like a narrow broadside arc) or from each corner tower (as if it was a turret)?
  10. I'm a bit curious about the 1.1 tiny flyer wing rules. When I land my flyers on my carrier to "rearm" them, can I change there class of tiny flyer ? The red text on page 48 says that you only declare type when the wing is created. The landing rules say when they land the wing is removed, then the tiny flyers can launch as a new wing. For example : My <4>KoB Dive bombers are returning from a sucssefull dombing run of a <insert your most hated faction here> and Land on my Avenger. Then, on my Avengers activation, They Relaunch as <5>Fighters <having used it's deck crews ability>, and since they are within 4" of the Avenger, attatch to it as a CAP.
  11. Yes i know there's a search function Played our second game tonight and some interesting things happened, apart from realizing that Energy Turrets on CoA ships are actually useful for picking things of at a distance at the start of the game we introduced TFs to our game for the first time. Q1 Does this sound right? 2 TF wings of fighters. Wing A moves within 4" of Wing B and attacks it with Ack Ack. Wing B counterattacks and it is resolved simultaneously. Both wings have 2AD (Ack Ack) each, which are combined for 10AD per wing. Each hits the other on 3+ (they are both fighters). Each loses 1 fuel (1 for the attacker and one for the counter attacker) Wing A downs 2 of Wing B's TFs by rolling 6's. Wing B downs one of Wing A's TFs. Both wings score 5 or more hits and thus cause each other to abort, thus losing an extra fuel each. Q2 What the hell does abort actually mean? Do the wings stay where they are, do they move away? Or just stay put? Q3 Lets suppose one wing aborts and the other doesn't. Do they again just stay put? Q4 Same kind of situation but with fighters vs dive bombers, the fighter have attacked the dive bombers and shot a couple down and forced them to abort (see Q2). Can the dive bomber wing (which hasn't been activated) then just swan off and move away as normal and bomb the hell out of something? This seems a bit daft as the fighters have made contact and wouldn't just let them of the hook, surely they'd force the dive bombers away or something a little more, dare i say, realistic (and yes i know its not a simulation, it's a game). We just felt that once an air combat had been initiated, it would be damned hard to disengage from it. Q5 This is a bit of noob question, but i ask it out of desperation for the benefit of a friend. A squadron attacks a ship in another squadron, linking fire or whatever. Now lets say the target suffers hits from rockets, torpedoes and gunnery. When all defensive fire and shields are done with do you then add up all the hits in TOTAL from the three types of attacks and count that against your DR/CR, or is each type of attack dealt with individually. eg: 4 hits from torpedoes (no damage vs DR 5) 3 hits from gunnery (no damage) 3 hits from rockets (no damage) as opposed to 10 hits in total (probably a crit).
  12. I'm a very new player, and recently played my second game, where boarding came up for the first time. At the time, I couldn't make much sense to it, so we just winged it, and I've been reading up on the rules afterwards. It's starting to make sense, but some things are still unclear to me. What is the meaning of the passage, from page 73? I was under the assumption that the target ship fought the combined pool of all the AP allocated against it (after Ack Ack has been resoloved against each individual ship participating in the assault), but does this mean you can treat each Boarding Assault separately? I'm sorry if I'm being a bit vague, but I don't really know where to start. If I were to critizise Spartan Games on anything, it would have to be the chunkyness of the rulebook. Not being a native English speaker doesn't help either, I guess.
  13. This question comes from another portion of the forum, and since I can't find it anywhere in the 1.1 Rules here it comes. Counterattack AA fire against tiny flyers - do you have to link the squadron's fire at them or can you shoot the units at them individually? I could swear that somewhere it says you must link AA against a tiny flyer wing, but I can't find it.
  14. So the time orb has templates that do various things, but there is an issue that has come up in our group. If the time orb makes a half ad or speed template and a vessel passes through them what happens in each case. My argument is that Any Vessel Touched is effected by either or. My friends argument is that any vessel touched is affected by the move bonus and that a vessel with it's center in the halfad shield has ad halfed against it but if guns are sticking out they can still use them at full AD. What is the real rule?
  15. The new Blazing Sun small fliers have 1 AP each, and add two dice during boarding actions due to having gas bombs. When being shot down, is the enemy just trying to shoot down 5 AP [if I used a full 5-strong squadron] and if they do, the assault is over and done with, and each one that's lost costs 3 dice? Or do I now have 15 dice to be shot at? Likewise if the enemy does 5 damage in the boarding assault, do I lose all my AP now or can those be against the extra dice given by the MAR?
  16. I was hoping for some clarification on the TF Ordnance -> Attack multiple targets -> Counterattacks process, and if there's an official method to how to best keep track of it. 1. Must a Tiny Flyer Wing with ordnance deliever all of its ordnance in the same attack? Or can it hold back part of its ordnance for a second attack? By the way it is worded under refueling/reloading, it states "when a wing makes ANY attack with ordnance, it must return to the carrier to reload etc etc" . I gather from this wording that you cannot make more than one attack without reloading, and thus you must fire all ordnance in one attack (I suppose you could fire less but it would be wasted as you couldn't use it for another attack?) . Is this how it is commonly understood? 2. Given that a Wing must (or at least should) fire all of its ordnance in a single attack, then, I do not see anything preventing the Wing from using available firing options such as Split fire. Thus, they should be able to split up their ordnance against multiple targets, and multiple squadrons, correct? Otherwise, you'd always be forced to unload all 15 torpedoes (from an undamaged wing) into one target, which seems like it would limit its effectiveness. Is this how it is commonly understood? 3. Assuming #1 and #2, then the target(s) of the targeted models or squadrons would get to counteratack. If these counterattacks successfully kill some flyers in the wing (but not enough to cause an abort), what is the official process in determining which flyers are destroyed (or targeted by which counterattack) ? How do you determine which flyers weren't killed by the counterattack, and thus which torpedoes still get to fire, and at which targets? Does using split fire also neessitate an additional step (not in the rulebook) requiring you to declare the targets of each individual flyer token? Or, do the torpedo flyers not declare which individual torpedoes go to which individual targets until after counterattacks are resolved? An example of what I'm talking about might make it clearer: a. A TF Torpedo Wing attacks with ordnance at a squadron of 3 frigates. b. The Wing wished to target all 3 frigates using split fire; 7 torps on one, 4 each on the other two. c. The squadron of frigates counterattacks, getting 1 kill with AA. d. With 4 flyer tokens left, at 12 total torps, how is it then determined where the 12 torps end up? Unless I'm missing something, It seems like this could be a messy process, and a number of determinations would need to be made along the way in the steps above. Although there's a number of house rules that would alleviate this, I was wondering if there was anything in the rulebook that I missed (or assumptions in the above points I am wrong about) that is making me look at this scenario incorrectly? I'd prefer to have to "make up" as few house rules / interpretations as possible, so please enlighten me if there's a clearer / more structured way to play out this process. Thank you
  17. quick question guys. the wording of turn and activation are starting to muddle a rule. - how we were playing- activate unit of guys that shoot torpedoes or rockets, you get to use ack ack to stop it. [done pass turn ] a few activation later the same thing happens from another unit, you once again get to ack ack. we were saying that if one squadron fires independently you they had to split the fire or focus to each rocket or what not accordingly. not full dice per each attack rolled. - how buddy see the rules say during one turn (meaning until you roll initiative again) you can choose 1 time to fire defensive ack ack. if the first activation is a squad of bombers, and you shoot to stop them then you cannot roll again untill initiative dice are rolled because it says "once during a activation". so first bombers get shot, and the second unit flys with out any henderence to delivere bombs this turns the game as we were playing it on its head. any insight would be great. its Saturday game night at my store and games are starting.
  18. Hi guys Q1. Can seperate weapons link fire. Eg: gunship links torpedo and turrent on FSA frigate. Both arcs satisfied? I've read some numbers showing they can Q2 do AA also not suffer dmg reduction like rockets?
  19. I have a question concerning fast torpedoes, it states that opponents successes with CC are rerolled, is that all, Successes, or just the first set of dice rolls?, I.E. enemy rolls, 5, 5, and a 6, I have his reroll, and he gets only one 6, when he rerolls the extra d6, and say it lands a 5, can I have him reroll that too?
  20. Hi guys new poster and only been playing this game for a month. EoBS for the win Too my question. Do all weapons against small targets only hit in 5/6 if the aggressor isn't a small class. Example 1 : EoBS Dread fires primary turrets rb2 against a FSA destroyer, hitting on 5,6 only Example 2 EoBS Gunship fires rocket batteries rb3 against a FSA frigate also hitting 5,6 only I ask because my friend uses the FSA and has 3 squadrons of destroyers he regularly fields against me as I only have frigates for small vessels which he destroys ASAP. Leaving me a hard time hitting these three squadrons of destroyers which he keeps at RB3. As rockets take no damage penalty he always wins the game in the end. Granted I can't blame him before he got the destroyers I won each game. My own destroyers are on route but they will be his priority targets I'm looking for a way to nullify his destroyers ASAP. I can field Dreadnought x1 Battleship x1 War gyro x1 Ikra squids x1 Cruisers x3 Gunship x3 Destroyers x3 (in the post) Recon flyers x2 Bombers x2 Frigates x9 Tiny fliers x10 Thanks in advance guys
  21. Maybe this is covered somewhere and I missed it, I only have the 1.0 rulebook and the update booklet. A Yorktown bombard shoots at an Icarus that is behind a mountain, using indirect fire. The Icarus is obscured. An indirect fire bombard hits on a 5 or a 6. You hit an obscured target on a 5 or a 6. But in some cases, such as a capitol model shooting at a small target obscured flyer, this becomes hit only on a 6, at least, that is what someone said with a 1.1 rulebook. So: Does the Yorktown bombard, indirectly shooting at an Icarus, hit on a 5 or 6, or only on a 6? If two conditions state that you hit on a 5 or 6, do you always only hit on a 6? Edit: If a capitol model directly attacks an obscured small target, does it hit on a 5 or 6. or only on a 6?
  22. It says in the rulebook now that counterattack AA works against any flyer attack, whether gunnery or attack-type AA. I know this has always been true against tiny flyers, but is this now also true for non-TFs? For example, if I have three bombers link their AA against an opposing airship, would that airship get countering AA?
  23. Ok, had a few questions regarding Fortifications and thier associated MARS. 1. When the model is destroyed, and no AP damage has been inflicted on it, it would still have the full compliment of AP correct? 1a. When a model sufferes a Magazine Explosion, what happens to the AP? 2. Can a Destroyed Emplacement still be shot at? I ask as it can still suffer Critical Hit Effects like Raging Fires, but what about adding new ones? 2a. If it can, do we still track Fusion Leaks as it affects the CR of the Model? 2b Can I shoot at my own Destroyed model to try and remove a Prize Crew? 3. Can a Destroyed model with 0 AP be captured and or prized? 3a. Can a Destroyed model with 0 AP be recrewed/prized by it's original owner? 3b. What effect does this have for VP if the original owner still has control of the model after it has been destroyed? 4. Does any of the other MAR's such as Invincible or Secruity Posts still affect a Destroyed model? 5. Can AP from a Destroyed model be used to initiate a boarding assault? 6. Can the model still target Naval models? 7. Are the Torpedoes Blocked by a change in Land Terrain in the Submerged Level? 8. Are the Torpedoes Blocked by Water that is on the Submerged Level? 9. Simply, do Fortifications cound as buildings when put on top of Terrain Features? IE: If a Medium Fortification is on top of a Medium sized Hill, is it considered a Massive Target as far as determining Line of Sight to enemy models? 10. Can a Squadron of Fortifications Link Fire if within the 6" Command Distance? 11. Can a Squadron of Fortifications (Or any other non Independant Model) be intentionally setup ourtside of Command Distance?
  24. Hi guys, A quick question that just cropped up in a game I'm playing right now. My Magenta was just made a derelict by a Prussian Blucher. I have the Game Card Die Hards in my hand. Can I play it and re-crew my Magenta, since it has to be played during a Squadron's Activation and the Magenta is no longer a valid squadron? Thanks guys. Le Coyote Rire.
  25. So, in the Covenant rulebook it says (I'd quote it but I'm not holding my rulebook at the moment) that Drones may spend their last fuel point to ditch (or something along those lines). Looking for an official ruling on how exactly this works. Is it: 1. The Flyers launch an attack which drops them to 1 fuel point. Before ending their activation, they spend that last fuel point to ditch, allowing the carrier to launch another wave. OR 2. The Flyers launch an attack which drops them to 1 fuel point. At the start of their NEXT activation, they launch another attack or move more than half to intentionally burn the last fuel point.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.