Jump to content

ThePimbler

Member
  • Content Count

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

ThePimbler last won the day on August 3 2018

ThePimbler had the most liked content!

About ThePimbler

  • Rank
    Neophyte

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Array
  • Location
    Array

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Rulebook page 20, under "Focused Actions": "Provided the Action is linked to an Attribute, a unit may declare that the Action they are about to take in their activation is Focused". The phrasing "about to take" means that Focusing must be declared before the action is taken, and thus must be done before the dice are rolled (strike/shoot action) or movement is made (move action).
  2. As an update to this, I asked on the FB group, and we got some official clarification: Search is a special action, is neither a move nor combat action (and so does not increase the cost of subsequent move or combat actions), costs 1 action point to use, and counts toward the unit's action limit for that activation.
  3. For the adventure "Treasure Hunt" on page 52, under "objective", it says "If a model is base contact with a token at the start of their Activation, they can make a Search Action to investigate the token". What is a Search Action? It is not described anywhere in the book that I can see. Is it a Move action? Combat action? Free action? None of the above? If anyone has a page reference for where Search Action is described in the book, I would appreciate it.
  4. I think I've figured this out on my own; Overcharged says that the weapon gains Disrupt and Hazardous for the duration of the action, so in the example above, if the Juiced Pistol crits on even one die, every hit has Hazardous and Disrupt, same with things like crit Lethal. One critical causes all hits to become lethal.
  5. Relevant rulebook reference, I have underlined relevant language: Tangle, page 45: "In addition to passing a Grit Check as normal, a unit hit by a Tangle weapon must pass a Fight Check. If it passes, the unit suffers no additional effect. If the unit fails, the unit immediately receives the Stunned and Disordered conditions" Couple of questions about Tangle: 1) So we know that if one model in a unit becomes disordered, every model in the unit is considered to be disordered (pg 33) but this is not the case with the Stun condition, which can affect individual models within a unit (also page 33). The Tangle rule says the unit receives the Stunned condition, not the model. The way that Tangle is worded, if one model in a unit of, say, 10 models, gets hit by a Tangle weapon and fails its Fight Check, does every model become stunned? The Stun weapon quality, as a counterexample, explicitly says that only the initial target gets the Stun condition. If a weapon with the Torrent or Blast weapon qualities has the Tangle weapon quality (Gustave Eiffel's weapon, for example), and multiple units are hit by the torrent, does every model in every unit hit that fail their Fight Checks gain the Stun condition? If a Torrent/Tangle weapon hits 4 models from the same unit, does each individual model in the unit make a fight check, or does the unit as a whole only make one fight check? 2) When does Tangle resolve? It happens in addition to the Grit Check when a unit is hit, but "in addition to" does not explicitly say if it happens before or after the Grit Check. It is not explicitly stated like in, for example, the Stun weapon quality, which explicitly states that the initial target gains the Stun condition after the Grit check is passed, or the Disorder quality, which explicitly states that the initial target gains the Disordered condition after a Grit check is failed. Tangle says that the unit immediately receives the Stun and Disordered condition if the Fight Check is failed. When does the Fight Check happen? This matters because if Tangle resolves before the Grit Check, the unit would be Stunned and Disordered before the Grit Check, and would not be able to use Tough or Mettle. If it resolves after the Grit Check, the unit would be able to Tough and/or Mettle as normal, and would gain the conditions afterwards. Clearer language could be something like "After passing (or before making, depending on the intent of the rule) a Grit Check as normal, a unit hit by a Tangle weapon must pass a Fight Check." 3) Somewhat unrelated question brought up in question 2: If a unit with Mettle is hit by a weapon with the Disorder quality and fail their Grit Check, do they gain the Disordered condition from the weapon quality before or after they use the Mettle rule to not be considered wounded?
  6. Whether your opponent thinks the Taint mechanic is too strong or not isn't relevant; only the rules on page 31 are relevant to how the mechanics work. If your opponent wants a fluff explanation of how taint checks work, they're in the Hex fluff section (page 94 of the rulebook if you're curious or want to show your opponent): essentially, tainted models either consciously or subconsciously cry out to the Hex while they are near death for salvation, and sometimes it chooses to save them. If you roll a crit, the Hex saves them from death. If you make the Mind check but don't roll a crit, the Hex "saves" them by turning them into a Hex beast. If they fail the mind check, the Hex does not save them. That's the in-universe explanation, it doesn't have anything to do with being reanimated. That's more what Carpathogen does, which in fact does not allow a Taint check to occur as your opponent was asserting, but that's a totally different rule.
  7. Hi EightByEight, I just read over the "Tainted" section of the rulebook on page 31, and didn't see anything about only being able to make one taint check per model. All it says is that when the last model in a tainted unit fails its grit check, you make a taint check before removing in from play, and if you roll a crit success, you would count the model as having passed its grit check. There is no language anywhere on the page about not being able to make another taint check if the model fails another grit check later in the game, so I'm not sure where your opponent was getting that idea from.
  8. Hi everybody: Smokescreen, pg 45: "While in play, the template is considered Area Terrain and any model touching the template receives the Shrouded common rule and suffers from the Disordered condition" Disordered, pg 33 rulebook: "If any model in a unit receives the disordered condition, it applies to all models in that unit ... A unit will lose the disordered condition at the end of their next activation unless they are out of coherency in which case the disordered condition remains" First, based on the wording of Smokescreen and the Disordered rule, would I be correct in assuming that if one model in a unit is touching the Smokescreen template, the whole unit becomes disordered? Second, when do the Shrouded and Disordered conditions expire? My assumption, and please correct me if this is wrong, is that Shrouded expires when the model is no longer touching the template, either at the end of the turn when the template leaves play, or due to the unit moving (during their own activation or because of Compel, Dark Council, etc). Does Disordered also expire at that time, or does it expire when Disordered would normally expire, i.e. the unit's next (note, not the current activation in which they are moving off of the template, but their NEXT) activation?
  9. Hi everybody, Page 25 of the rulebook under Rate of Attack states that for each successful hit in an attack action, the opposing player must pass a Grit check, one at a time, and apply any effects such as conditions or qualities until all of the hits have been resolved, with remaining hits and associated conditions being applied to the next closest model in the unit, etc. How does this interact with effects that trigger on crits? For example, John Younger's Juiced Pistols have a crit Overcharged effect, meaning that on a crit, the weapon gains the Disrupt and Hazardous qualities, but ONLY on a crit. Say he makes a Shoot action against a hands unit of Cazadores with 2 models remaining in the unit. His pistols are ROA 3, so he rolls 3 dice and gets 2 hits, with one of the hits being a crit. The initial target must then resolve 2 Grit checks, so it makes a Grit check against one of the hits and fails, becoming wounded, and the remaining hit is assigned to the other model in the unit. The other model succeeds at its Grit check, leaving it alive. Here is the issue: To which model is the crit effect applied? Can Younger's controlling player decide that the first grit check is the non-critical hit, and the second is the critical hit? The book does not specify in which "order", if any, the crits and hits are resolved/allocated, and for crit effects like this, it can make a difference. In the example above, if the critical hit is applied specifically to the second model, then even if it passes its grit check, it would then be affected by the Hazard condition and, because it is the last model in its Hands unit and is receiving a negative condition, it would have to make a Yeller check. However, if the crit has to apply to the initial target (for some reason), then the Hazard condition caused by Overcharged would not apply to the second model (as it is checking against the non-critical hit, and Hazardous specifically says MODEL hit) and would not have to make a yeller check if it then passes its grit check. Or does the clause "with remaining hits and associated conditions being applied to the next closest model in the unit" mean that the crit Overcharged effect starts with the initial target, and "rides along" with the remaining hits until all of the grit checks have been resolved, finally "landing" on the model in the unit that passes the final grit check? Any insights into how to handle this? Thanks in advance
  10. Hi Everybody, Taking One For The Team, rulebook page 14: "When a model is nominated as the Initial Target of an attack, you can pick a different model within 3" of the targeted model. This friendly model must be in range of the attack. The nominated friendly model now becomes the Initial Target of the attack..." The Quick and the Dead, page 47: "Once per turn, unless Hunkered, this unit may declare they will use this rule against an enemy model's Combat Action that declares them as the Initial Target (but before dice are rolled). This unit must pass a Quick Check..." If, say, Abraham Lincoln is the Initial Target of an attack, can Henry Courtwright spend one fortune chip to Take One for the Team, becoming the new Initial Target, and now that he is, then use The Quick and the Dead to avoid the attack?
  11. The wording on page 16 of the rulebook under "Guts Symbols" could be a bit clearer, as it does not specifically state either way. I believe the intent is that they are to be played immediately prior to phase 1 of the Activation Phase chart on page 15, whether you are at phase 1 because you just finished phase 2 of the Initiative Phase, or because you finished phase 4 of the Activation Phase and there are still unactivated units in play.
  12. Hi everybody, Relevant rules citations: Brutal (rulebook pg 43): "After resolving one or more successful hits on the target unit with this weapon, resolve a further single automatic hit on the same unit. You may only gain a single additional hit from this weapon in each action" Blast (rulebook pg 43): "...Should any model be successfully hit by the weapon then any models touched by the template are automatically hit..." I have a question about this interaction, which I will frame with a hypothetical game situation: Here is my question: Annabelle Hamilton throws a Thermite Grenade (blast, indirect, brutal qualities) at Odysseus Grant, passes her aim check, and then the Indirect rule causes the blast template to move d5 inches, and a 9 is rolled, causing the template to move off of Odysseus Grant and onto one model from a Civilians unit and two models from a Constructed Menials unit. Per the Blast rule, the models touched by the template are automatically hit. The Brutal weapon quality, however, specifically says "target unit", which i have underlined in the rule citation above. Since neither the Civilians unit nor the Constructed Menials unit were the initial target of the attack, do either of them get an additional hit assigned by the Brutal quality? Since Brutal can only assign one hit per attack action, if it does in fact still apply, to which unit does the additional hit become allocated? Thanks in advance
  13. On page 3 of the rulebook, under "Line of Sight", it says "Regardless of Base Size, any MODEL* (emphasis mine) or piece of scenery that lies within this corridor should be consided providing an Obscured effect when working out relevant modifiers to Aim checks etc". On page 26, under "Common Grit Check Modifiers", under "Obscured" it says "Receive +1 to your Grit Attribute for each piece of terrain or UNIT* that the line of sight of the enemy crosses". On page 29, under "Common Aim Check Modifiers", under "Obscured" it says "Suffer -1 to your Aim Attribute for each MODEL* or terrain feature DIRECTLY BETWEEN* the shooter and the target". On page 35, under "Obscured", it says "For each piece of terrain that PARTIALLY BLOCKS* the Line of Sight of a Shoot action, the model making the action receives a -1 Aim penalty. The model that is the target of the Shoot Action likewise receives a +1 to their Grit Check for each piece of terrain that PARTIALLY BLOCKS* Line of Sight to them". Ok, now that the text is out of the way: 1) Page 3 says that models and pieces of scenery that "lie within the LOS corridor" provide an obscured effect. Page 29 says that models and terrain features must be "directly between" the shooter and the target to provide the obscured effect. What does "directly between" mean here? Does it just mean that the model or terrain feature lies within the LOS corridor? The "directly between" language is confounding. 2) Page 3 (Line of sight rules above) and page 29 (shoot action modifiers above) say that each MODEL within the LOS corridor provides an Obscured effect, page 3 specifying for "aim checks etc". Page 26 says that you get +1 Grit for each UNIT in the LOS corridor providing an Obscured effect. So, if there are 2 Constructed Menials from 2 different units within the LOS corridor between Wyatt Earp and The Caym, then a Shoot action from Caym to Earp would give Caym a -2 to his Aim attribute (2 MODELS in the corridor) and Earp a +2 to his Grit attribute (2 UNITS in the corridor). However, if the 2 Constructed Menials are from the same unit, then there is only 1 unit in the LOS corridor, Caym would get a -2 to his Aim (2 MODELS) and Earp would gain only a +1 to his Grit attribute (1 UNIT). Am I understanding this model/unit differentiation between Aim and Grit bonuses and maluses correctly? Is t his intentional, because it seems unnecessarily confusing to have a grit bonus that depends on units in the LOS corridor and an aim malus that depends on models in the corridor.
  14. During Wyatt Earp's activation, he uses the Go On Lookout special combat action to gain the On Lookout condition. Next, The Caym activates. During The Caym's activation, Caym chooses Wyatt Earp as the Initial Target of a Shoot action. Earp decides to use the Give 'Em Hell reaction against Caym. Can Caym spend two fortune chips to use Veteran Instincts to go On Lookout and make a Give 'Em Hell reaction to Earp before Earp's Give 'Em Hell reaction occurs? Could Earp then opt to use two fortune chips of his own to use Veteran Instincts himself, creating a nested series of Give 'Em Hell reactions?
  15. Hi everybody, I played a game involving buildings the other day and a few questions came up during the game: 1) On page 21 of the rulebook, under the "Hunker Down" special move action, it says: "A unit with the MACHINE or VEHICLE trait may not make a Hunker Down action". On page 37, under Buildings, it says "Units in a building ... receive the Hunkered Condition while inside". If a unit with the MACHINE trait (ie a UR-30 Lawbot) is in a building, does it still become Hunkered, despite normally not being able to do so? 2) This one is a bit complex so I apologize in advance: On page 22 of the rulebook, under "Entering buildings or transports" it says "Units may enter an UNOCCUPIED (emphasis mine) building or a friendly model with the Capacity Special Rule". The book says this again in the last paragraph of page 37, "If a unit moves within 3" of an unoccupied building, it may enter it by making a Get In Action." The rulebook makes multiple references to more than one unit being in a building (first paragraph of page 39 for example, or on page 37 under "Buildings", it says "Only one unit of Hands or Support may occupy a level of a building at a time but multiple Boss or Face units can occupy the same level", or on page 37 under "shooting into buildings") but if only unoccupied buildings can be entered with Get In, per page 22/37, how is it possible for multiple units to occupy the same building? If multiple units, can, in fact, occupy the same building, can both friendly and enemy units occupy the same building? Nothing in the Get In rule specifies that you can or cannot do this. If you can, are they able to make fight or shoot actions against each other? 3) When drawing line of sight between two models, the rulebook says, on page 3, "Trace an imaginary line from the two visible outmost points of the bases of the two models that Line of Sight is being checked for. Regardless of base size, any model or piece of scenery that lies within this corridor should be considered providing an Obscured effect ". If a model is in a building, do you use the whole visible footprint of the building to the target model to draw the "corridor"? If not, what part of the building's footprint do you use to draw the "corridor"? If a unit in a building is shooting at another unit in a different building, how is the "corridor" drawn in that situation? If you do indeed use the whole footprint of both buildings, does every model and piece of terrain provide the obscuring bonus/penalty as normal? Thanks in advance
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.