Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About tommyorc

  • Rank

Recent Profile Visitors

505 profile views
  1. Hi I am planning to deploy my Windsor soon. 90 degree guns, from rule book it says distance is to be measured from appropriate point. However in diagram it is demonstrated that for turrets, the appropriate point seems to be centre of the turret. So, for this super big guns on the Windsor, are we suppose to measure from (1) cannon tip, (2) or mid point of the cannon? Or even more drastically, (3) from the socket where the cannon connects with the castle??? I had not thought of (3) before I start writting this post, but as I write, it seems a logical extension of the rule, where small British turrets are also measured from the turret's socket centre as shown on rule book.
  2. Oh thanks. Yeah I overlooked the "Fighter" only rule. That makes sense. However 15 dice? I thought concentrated bombing uses combined fire ... guess I misread another rule ...
  3. I have a question about the Halifax and Combat Patrol. Can I attach 5 dive bombers with the Halifax, and do the bombing together? (of course provided that the attached dive bombers have base to base contact with the Halifax on one side, and the unlucky model on the other side?) That would mean 20D from Halifax and 15D from SAS. Ka Boom !!!~ Pu Tuuuuu If possible, even more, can they combined into concentrated bombing? .... 35 fxxxing dice bomb?
  4. I thought the Heavy Turret and Turret on the Monarch can link fire? They are both Primaries, and are gunneraries ... Furthermore, isn't it that if the leading weapon has piercing, the linking turret also gains the benefit in the same linked attack? I personally love the Monarch, have used it in several games and found it quite useful. I have also used the Majesty Dread, but found it not that much more powerful than the Monarch. The only big difference is on toughness rather than punch.
  5. How about Link Fire for Mortar?? I think i have read in some previous post that people say it is not allowed. BUT if as the above argument goes, that Mortar is just another ordinary P or S gunnery with the 2 special rule bullets on p.67, then Gunnery should be allowed to Link Fire as normal... Am I interpreting it correctly?? Thanks
  6. Thanks for the quick response. Agree that we need to remove the fluff. But the two statement does not look like fluff to me. It is quite explicit. Ok even if they are fluff, from where can we inteprit that Mortar can fire directly? The 2nd question though, any view on whether mortar can fire aerial? And aerial at Range Band 1?
  7. Hi guys, I represent a group of Hong Kong new Dystopian Wars Players, who have some disagreements on how Mortar is used. I have searched the Forum and notice people have constantly said Mortar can fire directly, but personally I do not agree. It also seem to me that Mortar can fire at aerial models indirectly, but not at range band 1. Anyway, my personal understanding is as follows: My View: - Mortar is SOLELY to fire indirectly; - Mortar is a Gunnery, thus CANNOT attack Aerial Model at Band 1 - Mortar however can attack Aerial Model at Band 2-4, no rule prevent that. - Some Mortar can be treated as Bombard (Area Bombardment MAR, as in those in Russians) - If treated as Bombard, can fire directly or indirectly - If treated as Bombard, cannot attack Aerial Model My Argument: - Take for example the Russian's "Khatanga Heavy Battleship", the Heavy Mortar is "Primary Gunnery Ordnance (P)" and Light Mortar "Secondary Gunnery Ordnance (S)". Thus it is "Gunnery". - Mortar Weapons are generally short ranged weapons, designed solely to fire indirectly ... (page 67, with a "," added ...) --- if adding the "," it seems quite explicit ... - Bombard are weapons capable of firing both indirectly and directly (page 67) --- explicit , also make a good distinction between Bombard and Mortar - Mortar cannot attack Aerial at range band 1, because although it says "Mortars may fire indirectly at all range bands" distinguishing it from other Gunnery which can only fire "indirectly at band 3,4", it did not say it can fire Aerial at range band 1 ... so in an other words, "all range bands" is intended to tackle the "indirect fire can (normally) only attack range band 3,4," rule instead of the "Gunnery cannot attack models with Gunnery in range band 1" rule (p.58). Relevant Rule Abstract: - A Model on the Surface Height Level CANNOT Target a Model occupying the Aerial Height Band with a Gunnery Ordnance Attack in Range Band 1. (Declaring Attacks, p.58) There are 6 firing options (page 63 - 65): - Standard Fire - Linked Fire - Combined Fire - Indirect Fire (IDF) - Concentrated Bombing - Area Bombardment - Area Bombardment is considered to be an Indiscriminate Attack, with a "To Hit" Number of 5 or (Red) 6, and may only ever Target the Surface Height. Page 67 - OTHER WEAPONS: Bombards are weapons capable of firing both indirectly and directly. Bombards are governed by the following universal rules: - Bombards are identified by having bombard in the title - Bombards may be primary, secondary or tertiary weapons. - Bombards may choose to fire indirectly at range bands 2, 3 and 4. - When Firing Indirectly, Bombards may use any viable Firing Options and suffer a -1 "To Hit" number modifier. Mortar Weapons are generally short ranged weapons designed solely to fire indirectly, and may range from those carried by infantry, all the way up to huge demolition mortars designed to smash apart the toughest fortifications and vessels - Mortars are identified by having Mortar in the title. - Mortars may fire Indirectly at all Range Bands, and have a -1 "To Hit" modifier when doing so. Please enlighten me.
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.