Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Today
  2. Ultravanillasmurf

    Cover and base size?

    The question here is that the bases are not visible, but the figures are. I do not have the rules to hand, but it does mention the model has an effective height of the width of the base. This would imply that there is a volume effect.
  3. Ultravanillasmurf

    Faction Decks?

    Not sure why yours are pixelated, is that on the screen or on a print out. My print outs are clear.
  4. TotalNoobSauce

    Beacon and Unexpected Arrival

    interesting, so by the same logic regular units without unexpected arrival using the bonus to come in from reserve still have to deploy 6" from the back board edge directly across from the target model with Beacon unless the adventure designates a different location? Oh well, at least we will be playing it right in the future.
  5. Burson_Carpathian

    Just for fun - origins of the dark council?

    Christ! That is just utterly disgusting. ..... I like it.
  6. Polaris

    For sale section?

    @murphy'slawofcombat there are quite a few aquan lots on eBay right now,first page only they had overseer set, carrier, escorts, a battleship, that and I know there is a shipyard Facebook page, I highly recommend giving it a look
  7. We have some great news for you; our Warhost Programme is now open for US volunteers! So, it’s time to ask yourself a very important question... Have you got what it takes to be a Warhost? We are looking for enthusiastic community members, who are positive, inquisitive and friendly, to go out into the world and introduce new players to Warcradle Studios games systems by organising demo events at Clubs, Events and their FLGS. Grow your community! As well as getting the opportunity to introduce and recruit new players to the worlds of Warcradle, you will also get to enjoy and share your hobby by running sanctioned Organised Play leagues, tournaments, hobby nights and more - in fact, what you do as a Warhost will only be limited by your imagination and the time you have spare! What are you waiting for? If you want to be part of the Warhost Programme, head over to the form and register your interest now! View the full article
  8. murphy'slawofcombat

    Ship construction methodology

    please post it this site so we can all get into the act ............
  9. murphy'slawofcombat

    For sale section?

    any old Aquans for sale looking to round out my fleets ???????
  10. Burson_Carpathian

    WWX posters

    The first draft of some wanted posters which i put together, but there are more to follow! And the first of hopefully more commercial posters.
  11. TableTopTerror

    For sale section?

    Gone
  12. Skyhawk

    Firestorm Painting Group

    Well I think my Aquans would frown upon my Terrans doing business with any form of directorate. (Never mind the fact I have some, Just don't tell them that) .
  13. Yesterday
  14. On page 3 of the rulebook, under "Line of Sight", it says "Regardless of Base Size, any MODEL* (emphasis mine) or piece of scenery that lies within this corridor should be consided providing an Obscured effect when working out relevant modifiers to Aim checks etc". On page 26, under "Common Grit Check Modifiers", under "Obscured" it says "Receive +1 to your Grit Attribute for each piece of terrain or UNIT* that the line of sight of the enemy crosses". On page 29, under "Common Aim Check Modifiers", under "Obscured" it says "Suffer -1 to your Aim Attribute for each MODEL* or terrain feature DIRECTLY BETWEEN* the shooter and the target". On page 35, under "Obscured", it says "For each piece of terrain that PARTIALLY BLOCKS* the Line of Sight of a Shoot action, the model making the action receives a -1 Aim penalty. The model that is the target of the Shoot Action likewise receives a +1 to their Grit Check for each piece of terrain that PARTIALLY BLOCKS* Line of Sight to them". Ok, now that the text is out of the way: 1) Page 3 says that models and pieces of scenery that "lie within the LOS corridor" provide an obscured effect. Page 29 says that models and terrain features must be "directly between" the shooter and the target to provide the obscured effect. What does "directly between" mean here? Does it just mean that the model or terrain feature lies within the LOS corridor? The "directly between" language is confounding. 2) Page 3 (Line of sight rules above) and page 29 (shoot action modifiers above) say that each MODEL within the LOS corridor provides an Obscured effect, page 3 specifying for "aim checks etc". Page 26 says that you get +1 Grit for each UNIT in the LOS corridor providing an Obscured effect. So, if there are 2 Constructed Menials from 2 different units within the LOS corridor between Wyatt Earp and The Caym, then a Shoot action from Caym to Earp would give Caym a -2 to his Aim attribute (2 MODELS in the corridor) and Earp a +2 to his Grit attribute (2 UNITS in the corridor). However, if the 2 Constructed Menials are from the same unit, then there is only 1 unit in the LOS corridor, Caym would get a -2 to his Aim (2 MODELS) and Earp would gain only a +1 to his Grit attribute (1 UNIT). Am I understanding this model/unit differentiation between Aim and Grit bonuses and maluses correctly? Is t his intentional, because it seems unnecessarily confusing to have a grit bonus that depends on units in the LOS corridor and an aim malus that depends on models in the corridor.
  15. Burson_Carpathian

    Portals and Hexaliths.

    They can be declared as the initial target of an attack as normal and may be destroyed doing so if they fail their grit check.
  16. During Wyatt Earp's activation, he uses the Go On Lookout special combat action to gain the On Lookout condition. Next, The Caym activates. During The Caym's activation, Caym chooses Wyatt Earp as the Initial Target of a Shoot action. Earp decides to use the Give 'Em Hell reaction against Caym. Can Caym spend two fortune chips to use Veteran Instincts to go On Lookout and make a Give 'Em Hell reaction to Earp before Earp's Give 'Em Hell reaction occurs? Could Earp then opt to use two fortune chips of his own to use Veteran Instincts himself, creating a nested series of Give 'Em Hell reactions?
  17. ThePimbler

    Some questions about buildings

    Hi everybody, I played a game involving buildings the other day and a few questions came up during the game: 1) On page 21 of the rulebook, under the "Hunker Down" special move action, it says: "A unit with the MACHINE or VEHICLE trait may not make a Hunker Down action". On page 37, under Buildings, it says "Units in a building ... receive the Hunkered Condition while inside". If a unit with the MACHINE trait (ie a UR-30 Lawbot) is in a building, does it still become Hunkered, despite normally not being able to do so? 2) This one is a bit complex so I apologize in advance: On page 22 of the rulebook, under "Entering buildings or transports" it says "Units may enter an UNOCCUPIED (emphasis mine) building or a friendly model with the Capacity Special Rule". The book says this again in the last paragraph of page 37, "If a unit moves within 3" of an unoccupied building, it may enter it by making a Get In Action." The rulebook makes multiple references to more than one unit being in a building (first paragraph of page 39 for example, or on page 37 under "Buildings", it says "Only one unit of Hands or Support may occupy a level of a building at a time but multiple Boss or Face units can occupy the same level", or on page 37 under "shooting into buildings") but if only unoccupied buildings can be entered with Get In, per page 22/37, how is it possible for multiple units to occupy the same building? If multiple units, can, in fact, occupy the same building, can both friendly and enemy units occupy the same building? Nothing in the Get In rule specifies that you can or cannot do this. If you can, are they able to make fight or shoot actions against each other? 3) When drawing line of sight between two models, the rulebook says, on page 3, "Trace an imaginary line from the two visible outmost points of the bases of the two models that Line of Sight is being checked for. Regardless of base size, any model or piece of scenery that lies within this corridor should be considered providing an Obscured effect ". If a model is in a building, do you use the whole visible footprint of the building to the target model to draw the "corridor"? If not, what part of the building's footprint do you use to draw the "corridor"? If a unit in a building is shooting at another unit in a different building, how is the "corridor" drawn in that situation? If you do indeed use the whole footprint of both buildings, does every model and piece of terrain provide the obscuring bonus/penalty as normal? Thanks in advance
  18. mugel

    Portals and Hexaliths.

    Hello again. Can i close/destroy Portals/Hexaliths only with the "manipulate portal" -special combat action or can i simply shoot them down with my ranged weapons? Thanks for the answers kind regards Mugel
  19. Big Dave

    Infantry Transport Capacity

    Hey all, This is a pretty distinctly noob question, but I'm having trouble figuring out infantry transport capacity v. infantry cadre sizes. They seem like they don't match up all the time, so I think I'm missing something. The example I'm thinking about is the Dindrenzi Charon command drop pod, which in the ORBAT I downloaded a couple of weeks ago looks like it has a transport capacity of 16. That refers to the number of stands of infantry, right? Most Nyx infantry cadres are 4 stands, but the Charon transports a grand battalion of 7. So, still plenty of transport space, right? And the Charon can't carry more than one squad? So here are the big questions: 1. Why does this transport have a capacity of 16 stands of infantry? Is it actually possible to get that many guys in the vehicle? Even if I upgraded every single stand to be a sweeper or a gun team or an officer, it'd still only take up 14 transport capacity. When the transport capacity of a vehicle doesn't seem to QUITE match the number of infantry in a normal cadre, is that just for fluff purposes? 2. A transport can only ever carry one squadron, but does it have to carry a squadron from its own helix? Can I use some infantry from a core helix to board a drop-pod from a recon helix? 3. This is a super-noob question, but is there any limit to the number of infantry cadres I can upgrade? I think I understand that WITHIN one cadre, I can only upgrade 0-3 stands as sweeper teams, for example, but if I've got three or four cadres of infantry in my army, is there any limit to the number of cadres that can be upgraded? Thanks for any clarity you might have!
  20. Toxic_Rat

    Ship construction methodology

    @Polaris, and anyone else: Send me a PM with your email address, and I'll forward over the spreadsheet that I had for your review. I'm not aware that Alex ever publicly posted his spreadsheet.
  21. Warcradle Chris

    Beacon and Unexpected Arrival

    Beacon doesn't expire but it doesn't negate the restrictions of Unexpected Arrival. As stated in the Beacon Quality the unit is placed as close as possible to the targeted enemy unit, in this case the closest you can place it is 6" and it will still scatter.
  22. Polaris

    Ship construction methodology

    I know this is a really old thread, but does anyone know if a) Alex Mann ever posted that spreadsheet b) anyone has developed anything similar Even if it's just general guidleibes for costing stat lines
  23. Polaris

    Firestorm Painting Group

    @Skyhawk thankfully you can simply HIRE my omnidyne, and purchase some fine RAID brand weaponry from your friendly neighborhood directorate vendor, ahem *this guy* and those pesky spiders shouldn't be a problem
  24. Last week
  25. Crowbarr

    Shooting at units, and use of carpathogen

    Yep that helps out a bit, carpathogen is still a bit strange to me but I’ll work it out.
  26. Skyhawk

    Firestorm Painting Group

    I have never sat down and counted it out but my Terran 501st might come close to matching your Directorate @Polaris. However the Relthoza and Omnidyne have me outnumbered.
  27. We’re very excited to announce that the latest version (v.1.08) of the Wild West Exodus Rulebook in English is now available and, as one of our valued customers, we are giving it to you at a special discounted price! How do you qualify? Be sure to add the new softback rulebook to your basket when you place your next order of Wild West Exodus goodies, then make sure to use discount code WWXRULES before you check out*. Using the code will entitle you to £4 off the RRP of the softback rule book! Inside this high-quality softback rulebook, you'll find various new and enticing background stories on each of the eight factions and how they fit into the Dystopian Age. This version of the rulebook is also a larger book than before and, to help you with the small changes made to few special rules, we've included the latest ERRATA too. Order your rulebook directly from your local FLGS or from the Wild West Exodus webstore! Don't forget, you can get the latest version of the cards - including Unit Cards, Faction Posse and Armoury Cards - for free on the Wild West Exodus website. *Promotion terms and conditions apply. Discount code expires at 23:59:59 on 31.08.18. Discounts the softback Wild West Exodus Rulebook (v.1.08) in English. View the full article
  1. Load more activity
×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.